About Duke Kunshan

Advisory Board

DKU Advisory Board is an international network comprised of 25 distinguished business, civic and higher education leaders committed to assisting DKU in advancing its mission to pioneer a new model of global higher education. The Board will provide guidance and support to DKU on critical strategic choices through its annual board meetings and close engagement with DKU projects and initiatives, including offering ongoing advices and expertise, helping to enhance the linkage between DKU and other communities as well as providing support and mentorship to faculty and students.

The founding DKU Advisory Board members include: 

G. Richard Wagoner Jr. (Chair of the Board)
Former Chairman and CEO, General Motors




Dhanin Chearavanont
Chairman and CEO, Charoen Pokphand Group




 Gao Xiqing
Vice Chairman and President, China Investment Corporation




Hu Maoyuan
Chairman, SAIC Motor Corporation Limited




Andrew T. Huang
President and CEO, Koo Foundation Sun Yat-Sen Cancer Center




Jin Haitao
Chairman, Shenzhen Capital Group




Lawrence J. Lau
Chairman, CIC International (Hong Kong)
Ralph and Claire Landan Professor of Economics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong



Natalie G. Lichtenstein
Adjunct Professor of China Studies, School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University
Former Assistant General Counsel, World Bank



Kenneth G. Lieberthal
Senior Fellow in Foreign Policy and Global Economy and Development
Former Director, John L. Thornton China Center, Brookings Institution



Liu Mingkang
Former Chairman, China Banking Regulatory Commission




W.James McNerney, Jr.
CEO and Chairman of the Board, Boeing 




Dennis M. Nally
Chairman, PricewaterhouseCoopers International Ltd




Dede Nickerson
Head of Production and Strategic Development, Sony Pictures China




Thomas R. Nides
Vice Chairman, Morgan Stanley
Former Deputy United States Secretary of State for Management and Resources



Clark T. Randt, Jr.
Former Ambassador of the United States of America to the People’s Republic of China




David M. Rubenstein
Co-Founder and Co-CEO, The Carlyle Group




Chauncey Shey
Founder, CEO and Managing Director, Softbank China Venture Capital Pte. Ltd.




Susan L. Shirk
Chair of the 21st Century China Program and Ho Miu Lam Professor of China and Pacific Relations, UC San Diego




Kirk R. Smith
Professor of Global Environmental Health, School of Public Health, University of California, Berkeley
Member of the United States National Academy of Sciences



Wang Jian
Chairman, BGI




Jesse J. Wu
Chairman, Johnson & Johnson China




Yang Yuanqing
Chairman and CEO, Lenovo




Yuan Ming
Professor, Vice-President, Institute of International and Strategic Studies, Peking University




Zhang Lei
Founder, Chairman and CEO, Hillhouse Capital Management, Ltd.




Zhang Xinsheng
President, China Education Association for International Exchange
Former Vice Minister, Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China
Former Chairman, Executive Board of UNESCO


Zhong Nanshan
Director, State Key Laboratory of Respiratory Diseases
Former Director, Guangzhou Institute of Respiratory Diseases
Former President, Chinese Medical Association