Board of Trustees | Duke Kunshan University

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is Duke Kunshan University’s highest authority. It is vested with the power to govern and set policies at the university in accordance with the laws and regulations of the People’s Republic of China and the university’s Articles of Association (AOA) and Cooperative Education Agreement (CEA).

The board oversees strategic planning, maintains fiduciary duties and is responsible for ensuring the university’s operations are consistent with Chinese laws and regulations, the AOA and the CEA.   

In addition, the board is responsible for advancing the mission of, and providing strategic direction to, Duke Kunshan; oversight of financial resources and other assets; selection and regular evaluation of the chancellor and executive vice chancellor; and approval of all policies and procedures.


Sally Kornbluth (chair)
Provost, Duke University

Qizhu Tang (vice chair)
Vice president, Wuhan University

Liyan Chen (vice chair)
Deputy Secretary, CPC Kunshan Municipal Committee
Mayor, Kunshan Municipal People’s Government

Jennifer Francis
Executive vice provost, Duke University

Thomas M. Gorrie
T.M. Gorrie & Associates

Shaodong Zhang
Dean, College of Undergraduate Education, Wuhan University

Jun Xu
Deputy director, Duke Kunshan University Development and Promotion Center, Kunshan Municipal Government

Youmei Feng (ex-officio)
Chancellor, Duke Kunshan University

Alfred H. Bloom (ex-officio)
Executive vice chancellor, Duke Kunshan University

Julie Barker  (ex-officio; board secretary)
Executive director, Duke Office of DKU Relations, Duke University

James Dobbins III (ex-officio)
Strategic advisor to the provost on DKU, Duke University
Professor of Radiology, Biomedical Engineering, and Physics, Duke University 

Xiaoshu Li (ex-officio)
Director, Office of International Affairs, Wuhan University
Director, Office of Duke Kunshan University Affairs, Wuhan University

William Winner (ex-officio)
Professor of Environmental Science, Duke Kunshan University
Chair of the Faculty Assembly, Duke Kunshan University