Master of Environmental Policy

About iMEP

Duke Kunshan University’s international Master of Environmental Policy (iMEP) program combines a world-class faculty, cutting-edge research center, innovative curriculum and unparalleled career opportunities. You will leave the program with an advanced degree from world-renowned Duke University, and the knowledge and experience you need to devise evidence-based policy solutions to the most urgent environmental problems of our time.

 

Course Structure

The four-semester, 16-course iMEP program is designed to capture the skills necessary for a new generation of environmental leaders. It is the first in the world to draw together the important core requirements in environmental management and public policy. These include economics, political science, sociology, history, law, statistics and environmental science.

 

Fall

Spring

Year 1

  • Environmental Economics
  • Statistics and Program Evaluation for Environmental Policy
  • Environmental Policy Analysis
  • 1 Elective
  • Environmental Science
  • Environmental Economics Policy Practicum
  • Environmental Policy Process
  • 1 Elective

Year 2

  • Master's Project Capstone*
  • 3 Electives

Option to study abroad at Duke University, Durham, North Carolina, USA 

  • Master's Project Capstone*
  • Environmental Law,
  • Governance and Regulation
  • 2 Electives

* Under faculty supervision, small groups of students will work with clients to develop solutions to real-world environmental policy challenges.

International Opportunities

Building on the strong relationship between the iMEP program and Duke University, iMEP students will have the opportunity to spend a semester at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, USA, where they will interact with the broader Duke faculty, gain additional English-language experience, and build networks with US-based contacts.

At the same time, the program will bring students pursuing a master’s degree from the Nicholas and Sanford schools to Duke Kunshan, further increasing diversity and networking opportunities in the iMEP program. Internships with a range of international organizations, NGOs, and corporations round out the opportunities available to iMEP students.

Duke University, which is based in Durham, North Carolina, USA, is renowned for its superb academics, beautiful campus and champion-caliber sports. Durham is recognized as a great place to live, consistently ranked as an excellent location for business and careers, along with first-rate restaurants, hometown sports, and countless cultural offerings, including the Durham Performing Arts Center.

Master Programs at Duke University

For students interested in master programs of environmental management or public policy, please visit the website of Nicholas School of the Environment or Sanford School of Public Policy:

https://nicholas.duke.edu/
https://sanford.duke.edu/

项目简介

全球经济尤其是新兴经济体的发展创造了新的机遇,同时也带来了复杂的环境问题:环境污染、食品安全、能源短缺、气候变化。昆山杜克大学iMEP项目将通过一系列相关课程,培养学生解决政策问题的能力,共同应对紧迫的环境挑战。

iMEP项目拥有高水平的国际化师资、顶尖的研究中心、创新的课程设置和丰富的职业发展机会。毕业生将获得美国杜克大学颁发的学位,掌握实证分析的技能,具备制定环境政策所需的知识和经验,从而应对当今亟需解决的环境问题。

 

课程列表

昆山杜克大学iMEP项目的学制为四个学期,总计16门课程。课程设计旨在为新一代环境领域领导者提供必备的技能。该项目是国际上首个集中了环境管理与公共政策核心课程的项目。课程包括经济学、政治学、社会学、历史、法律、统计学和环境科学。

 

秋季学期

春季学期

第1年

  • 环境经济学
  • 统计学及项目评估(环境政策)
  • 环境政策分析
  • 1门选修课
  • 环境科学
  • 环境经济政策的实践
  • 环境政策程序
  • 1门选修课

第2年

  • 毕业设计*
  • 3门选修课

可选择到美国杜克大学留学

  • 毕业设计*
  • 环境法、政府治理和监管
  • 2门选修课

* 学生将以业内相关机构提供的实际案例作为毕业设计主题。学生将组成研究小组,在导师指导下与业内相关机构一起探讨解决方案。在这个过程中学生既完成了毕业设计,又积累了实际工作经验。

国际机遇

昆山杜克大学iMEP项目与杜克大学联系紧密,本项目的学生将有机会前往位于美国北卡罗纳州达勒姆市的杜克大学进行一学期的学习,与更多的杜克教员互动交流,获得更丰富的英语语言经验,建立基于美国本土的社交网络。

同时,iMEP项目将吸引杜克大学尼古拉斯环境学院和桑福德公共政策学院的研究生来昆山学习,进一步增强项目的多元化,为学生提供更多社交机会。同时iMEP项目还会为学生提供到众多国际组织、非政府机构和跨国公司实习的机会。

杜克大学位于美国北卡罗莱纳州达勒姆市,因其卓越的学术成就、美丽的校园和具备冠军实力的体育队而闻名。达勒姆市是公认的宜居之城,连续多年被评为适宜商业和事业发展的绝佳城市,拥有一流的餐馆、丰富的文化体育活动和配套设施,如达勒姆表演艺术中心。

杜克研究生项目

对环境管理或公共政策有兴趣的同学,可以访问杜克尼古拉斯环境学院或桑福德公共政策学院网站:

https://nicholas.duke.edu/
https://sanford.duke.edu/