The Belt and Road Initiative | Duke Kunshan University

Apply Give

Research banner

You are here

The Belt and Road Initiative

Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) is a top-level design of foreign policy proposed by China’s President Xi in 2013. In order to achieve the joint development in Eurasian countries, BRI developed multifold cooperation and placed an emphasis on the area of infrastructure. However, as a result of its environmental unfriendly industry structure, China’s industries that are involved in the B&R are likely to be resource intensive and pollution intensive, making a pessimistic impact on B&R countries’ sustainable development. To this end, we set up a series of studies focusing on the green cooperation and its support system in BRI.

First, we interpreted the necessity of green BRI from the perspectives of China’s motivation as well as B&R countries’ backgrounds. The data review of B&R countries’ economy, policy, energy use, environment, and ecology indicators showed that, B&R countries are facing dual pressures of economic development and environmental degradation. Taking the emerging economies as the main body, B&R countries are calling for the consideration of environmental protection in economic development, especially in the cooperation of BRI.

Second, we focus on the benefit assessment of green investment in BRI. In order to involve the consideration of environmental externality into BRI’s investment decision, this study tries to provide a practical assessment model for financing institutions to evaluate the extra benefits and costs of green investments. In addition, we will pay more attention on the third part certification and information disclosure, which are essential for the development of BRI’s green finance.

What is the Belt Road Initiative?

In 2013, The Government of China announced its vision for the creation of the 21st century Silk Road and momentum around this massive international infrastructure development program has been building ever since. The new Silk Road program, termed the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI), is a significant international initiative with global support and investment.  Total estimated investment in BRI are reportedly on the scale of US$1 trillion dollars.  This effort in many ways is a continuation and acceleration of China’s ongoing investment around the world.  

According to the Belt and Road Portal website, there are currently 68 countries involved, though other sources report only 65 countries.  The BRI currently includes infrastructure projects such as: roads and highways, trains, energy infrastructure (power stations, wind farms, oil pipelines etc.), ports, extractive industry infrastructure (mines, logging), and information technology infrastructure. This effort may expand over time. More information can be found here.

Projects

Greening development investments

Coordinated by Duke University’s Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions and Duke Kunshan University, this effort is focused on collecting and assessing biodiversity data to understand where new infrastructure development should be located to protect biodiversity by designating  areas that should be avoided because of their high-value biodiversity habitat, areas where mitigation for impacts should be included, and areas where development should be encouraged because biodiversity impact is low. The team is also exploring how to communicate biodiversity conservation in the face of infrastructure development to stakeholders and decision makers in China and BRI countries. They also are hosting an event with the Africa Initiative on campus.

Project leads: Contacts Elizabeth Losos, Ph.D. elizabeth.losos@duke.edu; Lydia Olander, Ph.D. lydia.olander@duke.edu; Sara Mason sara.mason@duke.edu; Binbin Li Binbin.li@duke.edu;

Events

The Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions and Africa Initiative are hosting an event and dialog “Avoiding Roadkill: How to minimize the biodiversity impact of Chinese infrastructure expansion in Africa

Webinar: Rose Niu, Chief Conservation Officer, The Paulson Institute

Observation and inference from participation in building ecological civilization in China

Webinar: Junjie Zhang, Director and Associate Professor Environmental Research Center, Masters of Environmental Policy Program, Duke Kunshan University.

Towards a Green Belt and Road

“一带一路” | 昆山杜克大学
Research banner

你在这里

“一带一路”

“一带一路”(BRI)是2013年中国国家主席习近平提出的外交政策的顶层设计。为了实现欧亚国家的共同发展,BRI开展了多层次的合作,并聚焦于基础设施领域。然而,由于其对环境不友好的产业结构,中国参与贝加莱的产业可能是资源密集型和污染密集型产业,对贝加莱国家的可持续发展产生悲观影响。为此,我们开展了一系列研究,重点关注BRI的绿色合作及其支持系统。

首先,我们从中国的动机和贝加莱国家的背景来解释绿色BRI的必要性。贝加莱国家经济,政策,能源使用,环境和生态指标的数据回顾表明,贝加莱国家正面临着经济发展和环境恶化的双重压力。以新兴经济体为主体,贝加莱国家呼吁在经济发展中考虑环境保护,特别是在BRI的合作中。

其次,我们关注BRI绿色投资的效益评估。为了将环境外部性考虑纳入BRI的投资决策,本研究试图为融资机构提供一种实用的评估模型,以评估绿色投资的额外收益和成本。此外,我们将更加关注第三方认证和信息披露,这对BRI绿色金融的发展至关重要。

什么是一带一路?

2013年,中国政府宣布了创建21世纪丝绸之路的愿景,此后大规模国际基础设施发展计划的势头一直在不断发展。新的丝绸之路计划被称为“一带一路”(BRI),是一项重要的国际倡议,拥有全球支持和投资。据报道,BRI的估计投资总额为1万亿美元。这种努力在很多方面是中国在全球范围内持续投资的持续和加速。

根据“一带一路”门户网站,目前有68个国家参与,但其他来源仅报告了65个国家。 BRI目前包括基础设施项目,如:公路和高速公路,火车,能源基础设施(发电站,风电场,石油管道等),港口,采掘业基础设施(矿山,采伐)和信息技术基础设施。这种努力可能会随着时间而扩大更多信息可以在这里找

项目

绿化发展投资

在杜克大学尼古拉斯环境政策解决方案研究所和杜克昆山大学的协调下,这项工作的重点是收集和评估生物多样性数据,以了解新基础设施的发展应该在何处通过指定因其高价值而应该避免的区域来保护生物多样性 生物多样性栖息地,应包括减缓影响的领域,以及由于生物多样性影响较小而应鼓励发展的领域。 该团队还在探索如何在面向基础设施发展的过程中向中国和BRI国家的利益相关者和决策者传达生物多样性保护。 他们还将在校园内举办非洲倡议活动。

项目负责人: Elizabeth Losos, Ph.D. elizabeth.losos@duke.edu; Lydia Olander, Ph.D. lydia.olander@duke.edu; Sara Mason sara.mason@duke.edu; Binbin Li Binbin.li@duke.edu;

活动

尼古拉斯环境政策解决方案和非洲倡议研究所正在举办一场活动和对话“避免使用道路:如何最大限度地减少中国在非洲的基础设施扩张对生物多样性的影响”

网络研讨会:保罗森研究所首席保护官Rose Niu

中国参与建设生态文明的观察与推断

网络研讨会:张俊杰,昆山杜克大学环境研究中心主任,环境研究中心副教授。

走向绿化带和道路