DKU extends campus access restrictions, plans online courses | Duke Kunshan University

DKU extends campus access restrictions, plans online courses

The following information was emailed to all members of the DKU community on Jan. 30 by the DKU Emergency Preparedness Task Force. We will share updates as we have them on our website and on Facebook and Twitter.

As the situation surrounding the coronavirus outbreak continues to evolve, DKU’s Emergency Preparedness Task Force is assessing its action plan on a daily basis to ensure we are doing our utmost to protect our community.

As a result, DKU has decided to extend its campus access restrictions until Monday Feb. 24 or until further notice. Only essential personnel will be required to report to work on campus before this date.

To minimize disruption to our academic schedule, the university is developing a remote online learning plan for our graduate and undergraduate programs. You will receive more details from the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs in the next few days.

 

What this means for students, faculty and staff

Students

In the coming days, we will send you a mandatory survey to learn more about your internet access and provide details on which classes will be available online and how you can access them. Please complete the survey as soon as possible.

We understand that, for various reasons, some students may not have sufficient internet access to take part in online courses. Rest assured we are working on alternative learning solutions for this unique situation.

We strongly encourage students who have not already returned home to do so until further notice, unless you are from Hubei province (in which case follow the government’s travel guidance). Some airlines have canceled flights to and from China, and others may follow, so we strongly advise students who plan to leave the country to do so as soon as possible.

Students now residing on the main campus and Scholars Hotel can stay on campus or receive financial assistance to return home. DKU is exploring options to help the remaining students at Scholars Hotel relocate to the main campus to make it easier for them to access dining facilities and other campus services. Student Affairs will contact those students directly.

 

Faculty

You will be able to work remotely to provide online classes until the campus reopens. Please refer to the message sent by the VCAA on Jan. 30. You will receive detailed instructions from the VCAA and DKU IT on how to access and use the system for online classes.

 

Staff

All essential personnel must enter through the North Gate by showing your DKU ID and special access permit (check with your supervisor). You will also be required to undergo a mandatory temperature check upon arrival.

All other employees are required to return to their place of residence – Kunshan, Suzhou or Shanghai – on or before Feb. 10. EXCEPTION: Those currently in Hubei should follow travel guidance from the government.

Staff are required to work from home for 14 calendar days to observe the recommended incubation period before returning to work on campus (including KSTEP) on Feb. 24 or until further notice. Contact your supervisor to arrange your work assignments between Feb. 10 and 23.

DKU is in constant communication with the Chinese government at all levels and will not ask any employee to travel unless we are fully confident that major risk factors have been abated.

Please note that as we continue to receive daily updates and notices from the government, DKU may be required to revise its reopening date again to meet the requirements of local or state authorities.

 

We know that this is a difficult time, but you are not alone. Together, no matter how long it takes, we will recover and rebuild. We thank you all for your flexibility and patience in these extraordinary circumstances.

Best wishes,

Chancellor Feng Youmei
Executive Vice Chancellor Denis Simon
DKU Emergency Preparedness Task Force

昆山杜克大学延长校园进出管制;正在规划在线课程 | 昆山杜克大学

昆山杜克大学延长校园进出管制;正在规划在线课程

随着新型冠状病毒疫情的持续发展,昆山杜克大学应急准备工作小组每天都在评估其行动计划,确保校方尽到了最大的努力保护我们的社区。

因此,昆山杜克大学决定延长校园进出管制至2月24日(星期一)或直到校方进一步通知。在此日期之前,只有重要人员需要进入校园工作。

为了尽量减少对教学日程的干扰,校方正在面向研究生和本科生制定远程在线学习计划。在接下来的几天里,昆山杜克负责学术事务的副校长办公室将公布更多的细节。

对学生和教职员工的影响

 

学生

在接下来的几天里,校方将向学生发送一份必填调查,了解每位学生的互联网接入条件,并详细介绍学生可以在线学习哪些课程以及如何进行在线学习。请尽快完成调查问卷。

我们理解,一些学生出于各种原因可能没有足够的网络条件参加在线课程。请放心,我们正针对这种独特的情况寻找其他的学习解决方案。

我们强烈鼓励尚未返家的非湖北籍学生返回家中,等待学校的进一步通知。湖北籍学生请遵循政府的出行指导。一些航空公司已经取消了往返中国的航班,其他航空公司可能也会采取同样的措施,因此我们强烈建议计划离开中国的学生尽快出行。

目前仍住在主校区和书香世家的学生可以继续留在校园,或者申请校方的经济资助返家。校方正在积极协调,帮助仍住在书香世家的学生搬到主校区,以便他们更便捷使用餐饮设施和其他校园服务。昆山杜克学生事务部将直接联系所涉及的学生。

 

教师

在校园重新开放之前,教师可以远程提供在线课程。请参阅昆山杜克学术事务副校长于 1月30日所发送的信息。昆山杜克学术事务副校长办公室和信息技术部门将发送详细的说明,指导如何访问和使用在线课程系统。

 

行政工作人员

所有保证校园运行的核心工作人员必须从北门进入校园,需出示昆山杜克ID和特殊通行证(具体请联系你的主管领导),校方会对进入校园的工作人员进行强制性体温测试。

所有其他行政工作人员必须在2月10日或之前返回其居住地(昆山、苏州或上海)。注:目前仍在湖北省的工作人员需遵循政府的出行指导。

在2月24日(或者校方另行通知的日期)重返校园(包括KSTEP办公区)前,工作人员需在家办公,在医学规定的14天潜伏期结束后身体状况正常可回到工作岗位。关于2月10日至23日之间的具体工作安排,请联系自己的主管领导。

昆山杜克大学一直与中国各级政府保持沟通。在这段时间,校方不会要求工作人员旅行,除非我们有充足的信心认为主要风险因素已经解除。

请注意,根据校方收到的政府每日更新和通知,我们可能会按照当地或国家的要求,再次推迟校园开放日期。

我们知道这是一个困难的时期,但你并不孤单。无论需要多长时间,我们都会一起恢复和重建。我们感谢大家在这个特殊情况下展示出的配合和耐心。

 

此致,

冯友梅校长

丹尼斯·西蒙常务副校长

昆山杜克应急准备工作小组

 

我们会分享最新的更新于此网站以及我们的微博微信公众号