Apply Give

academic banner

Curriculum

Our curriculum is designed to provide the requisite knowledge, tools, and experiences to devise policy solutions to complex environmental problems. The core courses ensure that students have the perspectives from economics, politics, public policy and law, when they analyze environmental policy problems. The elective courses and tools provide students the knowledge and skills in a specific field they want to dive deeper. The Master’s Project gives students a testbed to apply what they have learned into a real-world environmental policy challenge, thus accumulating practical case experiences.

Specifically, the first-year structure of curriculum includes economics, statistics, and policy analysis, followed by a spring semester policy practicum. In the second year, students will have an opportunity to spend one semester in Durham. This allows them to benefit from the larger number of electives available on the Durham campus. They are required to take environmental science, law, and a master’s project.

The overall curriculum emphasizes on policy and the social sciences, and it draws more heavily on the Chinese experience and other comparative cases in Asia.

The curriculum consists of 16 classes (48 course hours) spread out over 2 years. Students will be required to take 7 core classes (21 course hours of credit) so as to ensure quality and consistency in the degree. They will also be required to enroll in a full year of the Masters Project class (MP, 6 course hours). Unlike the traditional master programs in China, the iMEP program does not offer a thesis option

but a capstone project. There will be flexibility with the 7 elective classes (21 course hours) so as to allow students to pursue particular environmental policy and resource issues as well as enhancing their methodological skills. Finally, they will be required to complete a summer internship in China, ideally connected to their MP.

The curriculum will include (expected 2-year schedule):

The program includes a statistics and economics prerequisite; students will be evaluated prior to enrollment to ensure that they have the appropriate statistical skills and background in principles of economics. 

Students who would like to improve their language skills could benefit from the courses offered by the Language and Culture Center at Duke Kunshan University. For students who need additional support in writing or oral communication, the program strongly suggests they enroll in the English-language classes. Students who are interested in learning Chinese can choose to enroll in Chinese-language class.

课程设置 | 昆山杜克大学
academic banner

你在这里

课程设置

我们的课程旨在提供制定政策方案以解决复杂环境问题所必需的知识、工具和经验。核心课程在分析环境政策问题时确保学生具有经济学,政治学,公共政策和法律的视角。选修课程和工具为学生提供他们想要深入学习的特定领域的知识和技能。硕士项目为学生提供了一个测试平台,将他们学到的知识应用到现实世界的环境政策挑战中,从而积累实际的案例经验。

具体而言,第一学年秋季课程由经济学、统计学与政策分析的课程构成,在这之后的春季学期为政策实习阶段。在第二学年,学生将有机会在达勒姆度过一学期,这使得他们能够从更丰富的选修课选择中获益匪浅。在这一年中,他们要学习环境科学、法律方向的课程,并且完成毕业设计。

整体课程强调政策和社会科学,更多地依赖于中国的经验和亚洲的其他比较案例。

课程计划包含16门课程(48学时),预计2年完成。学生会被要求修读7门核心课程(21学时)以确保学位的质量与连贯性,并且参加为期一年的毕业设计课程(MP,6课时)。与中国传统硕士项目不同,iMEP并不要求学位论文,只需完成毕业设计课程。除此之外,7门选修课(21学时)具有高度的灵活性,以便学生研读特定的环境政策与资源问题,并提升他们的方法技能。最后,学生需要在中国完成一期暑期实习(理想情况下与他们的毕业设计相关)。

课程将包括(预期2年):

该项目对于经济学与统计学有先修要求;学生们在注册前将会接受评估,以确保他们有相应的统计技能和基础经济学的功底。

想要提升语言能力的学生能够从昆山杜克大学的语言文化中心受益良多:若学生需要更多书面及口头交流支持,该项目强烈建议他们注册英语语言课程;若学生有兴趣学习中文,也可选择注册中文语言课程。