Water Towns Environmental Film & Arts Festival | Duke Kunshan University

Apply Give

connect banner

You are here

Water Towns Environmental Film & Arts Festival

Jan 15th 2019 08:00 to Mar 01st 2019 17:30

This interdisciplinary and multimedia event intends to become a signature program each Spring at DKU. Celebrating in a humanities fashion nature/health, society, culture and arts, the DKU Film & Arts Festival will host filmmakers, scholars, scientists, and artists in a celebration and inquiry about the world we live in. 

Inspired by the distinct mission and curricular pathways of DKU Water Towns EFAF span several traditional disciplines: the moving image, environmental policy and science, the arts, and humanities which are explored cross culturally through documentary films and other multimedia production (visual arts, music, and performance) in rooted, global, and comparative ways.  Under the spirit of multidisciplinary inquiry and knowledge production Water Towns EFAF adds to the curriculum and academic programing from the arts and sciences bringing together worlds that cannot be reached otherwise. It also offers and opportunity of building (bridging) both an academic and local communities in Kunshan, Shanghai and beyond by sharing integrative (immersive) experiences -the cinematic as well as art and video installation, the most immersive arts of today.

Water Towns EFAF is an international (global) event that features recent and historical pieces of documentary film and artistic production under a selected theme. The theme will guide the principles of the festival but it will not limit both content and participation of titles and participants, Water Towns EFAF is an open platform. The main program will consist of a number of feature length films invited (curated by the selection committee), and two sections of SHORT films: Student Films and Independent Films, chose via an open call for submissions. Collateral events in the form of TED style talks (by filmmakers, guests, faculty, and students), performances, art exhibits, workshops, class visits, etc., will complement the main program.

Water Towns EFAF will take place every spring as a reminder of the celebration of life and the beginning of a cycle. For instance, the event works in relationship to DKU’s curricular and research interests with a two-fold platform: theory and praxis. The event would add to our curricular and research offerings and will serve as and active space of practice. It will take place in several venues at DKU; it will also work in partnership with local schools (elementary and secondary) and cultural centers in Kunshan and Shanghai. The main program will take place at DKU campus where students will host an international short program as well as serve as host for guest filmmakers, artists, and scholars. Water Towns EFAF committee (composed by faculty, staff, and students from multiple programs and units) organizes the festival, oversees the main program, and the call for submissions, as well as coordinate collateral events to make sure of the success of the event.

As on organic event, Water Towns EFAF is open for collaboration and participation of the DKU community, faculty, staff, students, artists, friends, and neighbors in order to create an open space of exchange and growth. The organizing committee will be a rotating body and welcomes anyone that wants to be part of the organization of the event each year.

WATER TOWNS . SHORTS FILMS ACCEPTING SUBMISSIONS

JANUARY 7, 2019

Accepting Submissions

WATER TOWNS Environmental Film & Arts Festival is accepting submissions of short films. From January 15, 2019 to March 1, 2019. CLIC HERE! for more information. 

MAIN PROGRAM

Titles to be made public on March 15, 2019

PARTICIPATING ARTIST AND GUEST

SPONSORS | DKU HUMANITIES CENTER; IMEP, CHANCELLOR’S OFFICE

Tuesday, January 8, 2019 - 16:00

水乡 环保电影艺术节 | 昆山杜克大学
connect banner

你在这里

水乡 环保电影艺术节

2019-01-15 08:002019-03-01 17:30

水乡|环保电影艺术节。 这个跨学科和多媒体活动打算成为每个春天在DKU的签名计划。在人文时尚自然/健康,社会,文化和艺术的庆祝活动中,DKU电影和艺术节将主持电影制作人,学者,科学家和艺术家,庆祝和探讨我们生活的世界

受到DKU水乡的独特使命和课程路径的启发,EFAF涵盖了几个传统学科:动态形象,环境政策和科学,艺术和人文学科,通过纪录片和其他多媒体制作(视觉艺术,音乐,以及根本,全球和比较的方式。在多学科探究和知识生产的精神下,水乡镇EFAF增加了艺术和科学的课程和学术计划,将世界上无法达到的世界结合在一起。它还提供和建立(桥接)昆山,上海及其他地区的学术和当地社区的机会,通过分享综合(沉浸式)体验 – 电影以及艺术和视频装置,这是当今最具沉浸感的艺术。

水上城镇EFAF是一个国际(全球)活动,以特定主题为特色,展示近期和历史的纪录片和艺术作品。该主题将指导节日的原则,但不会限制标题和参与者的内容和参与,水乡EFAF是一个开放的平台。主要节目将包括一些邀请的长篇电影(由评选委员会策划),以及两部分短片:学生电影和独立电影,通过公开招募选择。 TED风格讲座(由电影制作人,嘉宾,教师和学生),表演,艺术展览,研讨会,课堂参观等形式的宣传活动将补充主要计划。

水上城镇EFAF将每年春天举行,以提醒人们庆祝生命和开始一个周期。例如,该活动与DKU的课程和研究兴趣有关,具有双重平台:理论和实践。该活动将增加我们的课程和研究课程,并将作为和活跃的实践空间。它将在DKU的几个场地举行;它还将与昆山和上海的当地学校(小学和中学)以及文化中心合作。主要课程将在DKU校园举行,学生将主持国际短期课程,并作为客座电影制作人,艺术家和学者的主持人。水乡EFAF委员会(由教师,工作人员和来自多个计划和单位的学生组成)组织节日,监督主要计划和征集意见,并协调附属活动以确保活动的成功。

在有机活动中,水乡EFAF对DKU社区,教职员工,学生,艺术家,朋友和邻居的合作和参与开放,以创造一个交流和发展的开放空间。组委会将成为一个轮流组织,欢迎任何想要参加每年组织活动的人。

水乡.接受提交

JANUARY 7, 2019

接受提交

环保电影艺术节正在接受短片的提交。从2019年1月15日到2019年3月1日.CLIC HERE!欲获得更多信息。

主体计划

Titles to be made public on March 15, 2019

参与艺术家和嘉宾

SPONSORS | DKU HUMANITIES CENTER; IMEP, CHANCELLOR’S OFFICE