Conservation of China’s Tropical Biodiversity | Duke Kunshan University

Conservation of China’s Tropical Biodiversity

Conservation of China’s Tropical Biodiversity

May 07 - 08, 2016

Summary

Day 1 – BiodiversityDay 2 – Biodiversity, Economics, and Health

Click here to download the summary.

Home

China, the world’s most populous country, is experiencing rapid economic growth and concomitant changes to its environment. Covering 10 million km2, it has diverse ecosystems from permanent ice fields to tropical moist forests and holds 15% of the world’s vertebrate and 12% of its plant species. In recent decades, rapid economic development, population migration, urban expansion, and natural resource exploitation have threatened China’s high biodiversity and varied ecosystems. Nonetheless, it has emphasized conservation of biodiversity in recent years. Importantly, the total protected area has expanded 35-fold since 1980. By 2010, China had dedicated 18% of its land to conservation in >8,000 protected areas.

Most of China’s biodiversity and especially its unique species are concentrated in its tropical areas. Here rapid expansion of tree crops — such as rubber — reduce native ecosystems and there is often extensive hunting of wildlife. 

The challenges to conserving China’s tropical biodiversity are thus many and varied.  This conference will bring together those with a knowledge of biodiversity with social and political scientists who are concerned with the factors that drive environmental changes.  The aim is to improve the guidance that the scientific community (broadly defined) can provide to the managers and policy makers that shape China’s future environment.  

Partners

China Biodiversity Conservation and Green Development Foundation
Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanic Garden

保护中国热带生物多样性研讨会 | 昆山杜克大学

保护中国热带生物多样性研讨会

保护中国热带生物多样性研讨会

2016年5月7日—8日

概览

作为世界上人口最多的国家,中国在经济快速发展的同时,环境也在发生着变化。在约1,000万平方公里的中国国土上,分布着多样化的生态系统,既有永久性冰原,也有热带潮湿森林。这里拥有世界上15%的脊椎动物和12%的植物物种。过去几十年,高速的经济发展、人口迁移、城市扩张以及自然资源过度开发等因素,一直威胁着中国的生物多样性和各种生态系统。不过近年来,中国开始重视保护生物多样性。值得一提的是,自1980年以来,中国的保护区面积扩大了35倍。截至2010年,中国设立了8,000多个保护区,其总面积占国土面积的18%。

中国大多数的生物物种,尤其是中国独有的物种,都集中在热带地区。然而,橡胶树等乔木作物种植面积的快速扩大却在侵蚀着当地的生态系统。此外,猎杀野生动物的行为也比较普遍。

因此,保护中国热带生物多样性面临着多重挑战。有鉴于此,本次研讨会将召集生物多样性领域的专家,以及来自社会和政治领域、关注环境变化原因的学者,旨在帮助整个科学界为管理者和决策者提供更加科学的指导,进而改善中国未来的环境。

合作伙伴

中国生物多样性保护与绿色发展基金会
西双版纳热带植物园