INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Email, Network Access and Storage

Email – Office 365

All DKU students, faculty and staff are eligible to receive a DKU email account.  Usually, your email address will be firstname.lastname@dku.edu.cn.  Your email account is the official address that DKU will use to communicate with you.  It’s important that you check this e-mail account regularly.

To access your DKU email account, visit mail.duke.edu and select Office 365 as your mail system. You can also set up your PC/Mac, smartphone or tablet to access your DKU email account.  You can use Outlook Web Access (OWA) on your computer or devices, or use a mail client such as Outlook for Windows or Macintosh.

If you don’t have a DKU email address, contact DKU IT for help.

More about email:

Campus Wireless Network

You will need to register your computer and other devices (tablets, smartphones, etc.) to use the DKU campus wireless network.  Wireless network services are available throughout the campus.

  • When you connect to the DKU wireless network, you will be asked for a password.  This is not your DKU NetID password, but a special shared password everyone needs to connect to the DKU network.  Ask a DKU staff member for this password.
  • Next, open a web browser and visit dukereg.duke.edu (this page will also appear automatically if your computer has not been on the Duke or DKU network before.)  This begins a one-time network registration process.
  • Read Duke’s computer policy.  You must accept it to register your computer. 
  • When asked, enter your Duke NetID and password to login to the system. 
  • Then, verify or enter the information provided. The system will usually automatically fill in your Device Type and MAC Address (hardware Ethernet address) within a few seconds.  If it doesn’t, press the Detect link or manually enter these if you know them.  For Description, enter something to help identify this device, like “Dell Latitude laptop” or “Samsung Galaxy S5 phone.”
  • Finally, press Register to finish.

You may need to wait several minutes for your connection to become active.  Until it does, you’ll continue to reach the DukeReg screen.  Try turning your Wi-Fi off and on to reconnect. If this doesn’t work, power the device off for five minutes, then power it back on.

Secure Duke Remote Network Access

You can use Duke’s remote network access tool, Cisco AnyConnect, to encrypt and secure your network connection.  Additionally some DKU network services/software and library resources are only available to you from the Duke network (that is, from a Duke IP address), and may require Cisco AnyConnect for access.

To use Cisco AnyConnect from a computer, visit portal.duke.edu.  You may be prompted to download the Cisco AnyConnect client to begin.  Select the appropriate remote network Group, then log in with your Duke NetID and password.  Most DKU users will select one of three Groups:

  • Default:  All traffic to Duke sites passes through Duke’s network, while all other Internet access passes through your local Internet connection.
  • INTL-DUKE:  All traffic passes through Duke’s network, except local (subnet) traffic such as connections to local printers.
  • Library Resources Only:  All traffic passes through Duke’s network.  Local resources like printers will not be available.

To connect from a mobile device, check your device’s App Store for the AnyConnect client.

More about Duke remote network access:

 

Storage (Duke Box)

DKU students, faculty and staff have access to Duke Box, a secure web-based file storage and collaboration service also shared by Duke University and Duke Medicine.  With Box, users can access, store and share content securely with Duke and non-Duke users — anywhere, anytime, on any device.

Each DKU user has 50 gigabytes (GB) of storage on Duke Box, and can choose to share folders they create with other users, including people outside DKU and Duke. Courses and departments may choose to create folders for sharing class materials, work documents and other materials.  Box Sync clients for Windows and Mac allow you to keep files up-to-date between Duke Box and a personal computer, while clients for Android and iOS give users access to files/folders from their mobile devices.

Access Duke Box at http://box.duke.edu.

More about Duke Box:

  • Find more instructions and help using Duke Box at http://box.duke.edu.
  • DKU faculty/staff planning to use the service should review Duke Box’s Security & Usage Practices, including restrictions on the use of Duke Box for certain kinds of sensitive and restricted data.

Storage (Other Network Storage)

Faculty and staff requiring networked storage solutions beyond Duke Box should contact DKU IT.

邮箱,网络访问和文件存储 | 昆山杜克大学

邮箱,网络访问和文件存储

Office 365 邮箱

所有昆山杜克大学的学生和教职工都享有使用校园邮箱账号的资格,地址格式一般为firstname.lastname@dukekunshan.edu.cn。学校的官方信息都将发送到个人的昆山杜克邮箱,请注意查收。

请访问mail.duke.edu进入邮箱账号,邮件系统选择Office 365。另外,通过配置个人电脑、手机和平板也可以登录昆山杜克邮箱账号,使用Outlook Web Access(OWA)或者邮箱客户端都可以实现邮箱移动端登录。

如果您没有昆山杜克大学邮箱账号,请联系DKU IT寻求帮助。

更多邮箱资讯:

关于邮箱转发与发送设置,请阅读http://oit.duke.edu/selfservice

移动端邮箱登录指南,请阅读https://oit.duke.edu/what-we-do/applications/office-365

Office 365 的常见问题

校园无线网络

校园无线网络覆盖整个学校区域。在使用昆山杜克大学校园无线网络之前,你需要为自己的所有设备(电脑、平板和手机等)注册。

  • 校园无线网络覆盖整个学校区域。在使用昆山杜克大学校园无线网络之前,你需要为自己的所有设备(电脑、平板和手机等)注册。
  • 下一步,请打开一个网页浏览器访问网址 dukereg.duke.edu (首次使用电脑连接昆杜网络,这个页面不会自动跳转) 。下面将进行一个一次性的网络注册程序。
  • 请阅读杜克计算机使用政策,请务必选择“同意”按钮。
  • 当登录界面出现时,输入您的NetID和密码。
  • 接着请认证所需信息。系统一般情况下会填入你的设备类型及MAC地址。如果没有自动填入,可以选择检测按钮或者手动输入。在填写设备描述时,你可以选择一些帮助你辨认设备的名称,例如 “Dell Latitude laptop” 或 “Samsung Galaxy S5 phone”。
  • 最后,请按下注册按键。

在最终连接上网络前可能需要等待几分钟。当连接成功时,你会回到DukeReg界面。试着关掉无线网络并重新连接。如果没有连接上,请把设备关掉5分钟,再重新启动。

远程网络访问安全

你可以使用Cisco AnyConnect工具进行远程网络访问,它会保障你的网络安全。另外,一些昆山杜克的网络、软件服务以及图书馆资源只能在美国杜克的网络环境下访问,这种情况必须使用Cisco AnyConnect。

如需在电脑上安装和使用Cisco AnyConnect,请访问portal.duke.edu,你会被提示安装Cisco AnyConnect 客户端。在安装完成后打开软件,选择合适的远程网络群组,使用你的NetID及密码登录。昆山杜克的用户一般选择下面三个网络群组:

  • 默认群组:此选择下所有到美国杜克大学网站的流量都要经过美国杜克大学的网络,而其他的互联网接入则经过你本地的互联网连接。
  • INTL-DUKE:  所有流量都经过美国杜克大学网络,除了本地网络传输,如打印信息传输。
  • 仅图书馆:  所有流量都经过美国杜克大学网络,除了本地网络传输,如打印信息传输。

使用移动设备访问,苹果系统请在app store应用商店中查找AnyConnect客户端;安卓系统请联系DKU IT或前往IT SharePoint下载VPN APP OpenConnect安装包。

更多远程网络访问资讯:

常见问题

文件存储(Duke Box)

昆山杜克大学的师生及职员可以使用Duke Box,它提供安全的网络存储服务,杜克大学和杜克医学院同样享受这项服务。使用Box,可以随时随地在任何设备上,实现文件的安全访问、存储和共享。

每个昆山杜克的用户在Duke Box中都拥有50GB存储空间,用户可以选择将文件夹设置为与指定人员共享,共享者也可以是校外人员。课程和部门的文件可以放入专门文件夹,方便共享课程或工作文件。Windows 和Mac电脑上的同步客户端实时同步电脑和Box的文件,安卓和苹果系统的移动设备可以访问Box中的文件夹和文件。

访问Duke Box 请点击http://box.duke.edu.

更多Duke Box的资讯:

其他网络存储

教职工如果需要Duke Box以外的网络存储,请联系DKU IT