INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

Telephone and Video Services

Telepresence and Videoconferencing

Videoconferencing and telepresence calls may be scheduled between DKU and collaborators at Duke and other institutions worldwide. Equipment is available to support point-to-point video calls; in addition, bridge services are available for multi-party calls if required.  A software client (Cisco Jabber Video for Telepresence, formerly known as Movi) is also available to allow telepresence connections from a Windows or Macintosh personal computer. 

Please contact DKU IT at least five business days ahead of the planned call; please provide information on the conferring parties including contact information, as DKU IT will need to verify with their IT/audiovisual support staff that they have access to compatible equipment.  (Typically this includes a codec or other equipment to support SIP-based telepresence or videoconference calls.)

WebEx Conferencing

DKU faculty and staff may request a Cisco WebEx account for web conference meetings.  WebEx users can communicate by audio, video and/or through sharing documents or a computer desktop among multiple participants.  You can invite participants from within DKU, Duke, or anyone worldwide via their email account, and a simple web-based client provides them access to all aspects of a WebEx meeting.  WebEx accounts for DKU make use of Cisco voice over IP (VoIP) technology for the audio portion of all calls; at this time, dial-in phone numbers (WebEx Audio) are not available for DKU use.  VoIP calls are handled through your computer, not a telephone.  While you can use your laptop speakers/microphone, for best sound quality we strongly recommend using a headset or earphones/mic for best audio quality.

Telephony Services

Voice over IP [VoIP] phones are installed in offices and selected public locations.  These phones connect to the China Telecom national phone network and will also offer non-cost, Internet-based dialing to Duke campus phone numbers.  For information about services that will be delivered through Duke’s Cisco VoIP phone service, please contact DKU IT

电话和视频服务

Telepresence 和视频会议

昆山杜克大学和美国杜克以及全球其他组织之间有时需要安排视频会议和思科网真(telepresence)。校内的设备可以提供点对点视频通话,还可以在需要时通过桥接服务实现多方通话。软件客户端(Cisco Jabber Video,也叫Movi)也允许Windows和mac电脑接入思科网真通话。

请在视频会议日期之前提前至少5个工作日联系DKU IT,并请提供参会方的信息,以便DKU IT提前测试他们的视听设备是否可以适配使用。 (一般都需要codec或者其他设备来支持基于SIP的视频会议和思科网真。)

WebEx会议

昆山杜克大学的教职工可能需要申请Cisco WebEx账号以方便参加网络会议。WebEx 用户可以使用音频、视频、发送文件或者分享桌面相互沟通对话,并且可以多用户同时交流。你可以通过他人的邮件账号邀请昆山杜克大学、美国杜克以及其他各地用户加入,一个简单的网页客户端就可以让所有用户都能使用WebEx各项功能。昆山杜克大学的WebEx 账户使用Cisco voice over IP (VoIP) 技术完成通讯的语音部分,而目前对昆山杜克大学的用户,电话拨入还不能实现。VoIP 通话只能由你的电脑完成,电话目前不能接入。所以在你使用电脑进行通话时,我们推荐你使用耳机或话筒提高语音质量。

电话服务

Voice over IP [VoIP] 电话安装在所有办公室和一些公共区域。这些电话接入了中国电信全国电话网络,该公司还向杜克大学校园电话号码提供基于互联网的无成本拨号服务。了解更多Cisco VoIP电话提供的服务,请联系DKU IT 。