Tips for Travelers to DKU | Duke Kunshan University

Tips for Travelers to DKU

Tips for visitors

Traveling to Duke Kunshan for a short- or long-term visit? Here are some suggestions on how to prepare:

Laptop computer

If you plan to bring a Duke University laptop, check with your school or department’s IT unit beforehand. They may want to perform updates and maintenance on the computer, and they can provide you with information on Duke’s security recommendations, such as whole disk encryption and using Duke Box for file storage. If you’d prefer not to take your own laptop, ask your IT team if they can provide a loaner.

Video adapter

The classrooms and team rooms at Duke Kunshan have VGA and HDMI connectors. If your computer has a different, proprietary connector (such as Apple-specific ports, DVI, etc.), you will need to bring a VGA or HDMI adapter.

Power charger

Chargers for you laptop and other electronic devices will work only if they support China’s 220-volt service and the 110-volt service in the U.S.  Many laptop chargers do, but remember to read the label on your charger.

Plug adapter

Even if your charger supports 220 volts, it will need a plug adapter to fit the electrical outlets in China, which uses Type A, C and I outlets. Many electronics stores sell these adapters.

Local cellular services

The three major mobile carriers – China Telecom, China Mobile and China Unicom – all have stores in downtown Kunshan where you can purchase a cellphone and local SIM card. If you already have an unlocked phone that supports global use (typically through a wide range of UMTS/HSDPA/GSM bands), you can buy a local SIM card to install. China Telecom and China Mobile have implemented on-campus cellular repeaters for improved coverage inside the university buildings.

Loaner cellphones

Duke faculty and staff should contact Duke Kunshan’s IT team for information on loaner cellphone options.

Mobile phone options

Duke faculty, staff and students have several cellular service options while in China: Using your usual U.S. phone number might be more convenient but it could be expensive, even for those with global roaming plans; and buying a Chinese cellphone and data service might be cheaper but you might be unable to call some international numbers (although Skype can be used over cellular or Wi-Fi).

The most common options are:

Option 1: Use a Duke-paid or personal phone with a U.S. carrier

  • Before traveling, contact your carrier to make sure your phone will work in China. Also, find out about its global plan options and rates (Verizon and AT&T both have special plans for Duke-paid phones). Without a global plan you could incur thousands of dollars in charges.
  • Monitor your data usage carefully while abroad; turn off cellular data and use Wi-Fi when possible.
  • Install a VPN client before your trip.

Option 2: Use an existing phone with a Chinese SIM card

  • Visit your carrier’s store and make sure your phone has a SIM card slot, that it will work in China and that it has been unlocked. You cannot change the SIM card on a locked phone, and your carrier will only unlock your phone in person.
  • Install a VPN client before your trip.
  • SIM cards can be bought at Shanghai Pudong International Airport (English-speaking staff) as well as in phone stores around Kunshan (unlikely to have English-speaking staff). At all locations, your passport is required to make a purchase.

Option 3: Buy a phone for use in China

  • Purchase an unlocked, global GSM phone that supports a wide range of UMTS/HSDPA/GSM bands. Amazon has a good selection.
  • Install a VPN client before your trip. 
  • SIM cards can be bought at Shanghai Pudong International Airport (English-speaking staff) as well as in phone stores around Kunshan (unlikely to have English-speaking staff). You can also buy a phone in China, but these handsets might have certain restrictions, such as limited access to app stores or VPN clients. At all locations, your passport is required to make a purchase.

对来访者的建议 | 昆山杜克大学

对来访者的建议

如果你计划到昆山杜克大学进行短期或长期访问,请参考以下关于行前准备的建议:

笔记本电脑

如果你打算带一台杜克大学的笔记本电脑,请事先咨询你在院系的信息技术部门。信息技术人员可能希望对笔记本电脑进行软硬件更新和维护,并且可以告知你有关杜克大学信息安全的建议,例如,整个磁盘加密、使用Duke Box进行文件存储等。如果你不想带自己的笔记本电脑,请咨询信息技术部是否能暂借一台公用笔记本电脑。

视频转换器

昆山杜克大学的教室和小组自习室配有VGA和HDMI接头。如果你的电脑需要不同的专用接头(如苹果专用端口、数字视频接口(DVI)等)你需要自行携带VGA或HDMI转换器。

充电器

你的笔记本电脑和其他电子设备的充电器需要同时支持中国的220伏电压和美国的110伏电压标准。许多笔记本电脑充电器都自带这种功能,但还是要阅读一下充电器上贴着的产品说明,以确保无误。

电源转换插头

即使充电器支持220伏电压,你也需要有转换插头才能插入中国的电源插座,中国使用的是Type A, Type C 以及Type I插座规格。你在许多电子商店都可以买到这些电源转换插头。

本地移动通讯服务

中国的三大移动通讯运营商——中国电信、中国移动和中国联通——都在昆山市区设有门店,你可以在那里购买手机和本地SIM卡。如果你已经有了支持全球使用的解锁手机(通常支持各种UMTS/HSDPA/GSM频段),你可以购买本地SIM卡,直接装到自己的手机里。中国电信和中国移动已经在校园内安装了蜂窝中继器,以提高校园建筑内的移动通讯信号覆盖强度。

从昆山杜克大学暂借手机

杜克大学的教职员工可以联系昆山杜克大学的信息技术部门,了解如何暂借一部公用手机。

在中国使用手机服务

在中国,杜克大学的教职员工和学生可以继续使用本人的美国电话号码,这可能更方便,但是通讯费会因此上升,即使已经购买了全球漫游套餐;也可以在中国购买手机和数据流量,这会更便宜,但可能无法直接拨打一些国际号码(可以通过移动网络和Wi-Fi使用Skype拨打国际电话)。

最常见的可选方案如下:

选项1:使用杜克大学公费手机或者个人手机,仍然使用美国通讯运营商的服务

  • 请在出发前联系你的通讯运营商,确保你的手机可以在中国正常使用。此外,了解运营商有哪些全球套餐选项和费率(Verizon 和AT&T都有面对杜克公费手机的特别套餐)。如果没有全球套餐,在中国使用美国的手机可能会产生数千美元的通讯费。
  • 在国外时认真监控手机的数据流量使用情况;尽可能使用Wi-Fi网络,关闭移动网络流量。
  • 出发前安装一个VPN客户端。

选项2:使用现有手机,但是安装中国本地SIM卡

  • 请在出发前到你的通讯运营商门店,确保你的手机有可以在中国使用的SIM卡插槽,并且已经解锁。锁定的手机无法更换SIM卡,运营商需要在你的手机上进行解锁操作。
  • 出发前安装一个VPN客户端。
  • 在上海浦东国际机场(有讲英语的员工)和昆山市内的多家中国通讯运营商门店(不太可能有讲英语的员工)都可以买到本地SIM卡。在所有门店,你都需要出示护照才能购买本地SIM卡。

选项3:购买一部手机,专供在中国使用

  • 可以购买解锁的全球GSM手机,支持多种UMTS/HSDPA/GSM频段。亚马逊网上商店就有很多不错的选择。
  • 出发前安装一个VPN客户端。
  • 在上海浦东国际机场(有讲英语的员工)和昆山市内的多家中国通讯运营商门店(不太可能有讲英语的员工)都可以买到本地SIM卡。你也可以到了中国再买手机,但是这些手机可能已经设定了一定的限制,比如对应用商店或VPN客户端的访问受限。在所有门店,你都需要出示护照才能购买本地SIM卡。