Experiential Learning – Master of Management Studies | Duke Kunshan University

Experiential Learning

Go beyond the classroom by tapping into the business world in both the U.S. and China. While courses and team experiences will be the core of your program, you’ll also explore how the concepts you’re learning apply in real-world situations. Meeting with companies and engaging with leaders help you explore the many different aspects of business while building the skills and confidence you’ll need to succeed on your career path.

Corporate Visits

These opportunities enable you to see, hear, and feel how companies do things. You’ll tour workplaces, meet employees and managers, and attend panel discussions to learn about industries, job functions, company culture, business challenges, and employment opportunities. On some visits, faculty members will come along. They’ll help you understand the applications of business concepts and knowledge in actual businesses.  This kind of visit—which will happen in both the U.S. and China—helps you connect classroom concepts with their real world applications. In turn, this helps you clarify your own career goals, forming a better framework of functional knowledge.

With site visits ranging from companies like ABB and Burt's Bees to Bloomberg, Square1 Bank, and Oppenheimer, you’ll explore many different aspects of business including strategy, operations, marketing, venture capital, startup management, and social impact.

Previous MMS: Duke Kunshan students have visited:

  • Nielsen, a leading global provider of information and insights into what consumers watch and buy, in Shanghai
  • Bloomberg, an influential financial, software, data and media company offering products and services including Bloomberg Terminal and Bloomberg News, in Shanghai
  • CreditEase, a leading FinTech company in China specializing in inclusive finance and wealth management, in Shanghai
  • Ant Finance, Alibaba’s financial arm, in Hangzhou
  • Tesla in Shanghai
  • Giant, the world’s largest bicycle manufacturer, in Kunshan

Speakers

The Distinguished Speaker Series, held on Fuqua’s campus in the U.S., has been running for more than 30 years. High-profile corporate executives share their personal and professional stories of how they’re actively changing the business world—and give you an insider look at the industry or career issues they navigate.

Previous speakers include:

While you are in China, you’ll have access to everything Duke Kunshan has to offer.

Previous speakers at Duke Kunshan include:

  • Laura Kohler, Senior Vice President of Human Resources and Stewardship, Kohler Co.
  • Bob Xu and Victor Wang, Founder and Co-Founder of ZhenFund
  • John Sall, Co-Founder and Executive Vice President of SAS

What’s more, you can participate in a wide range of talks held by guests at Duke Kunshan, such as visiting faculty and speakers of various academic and industrial backgrounds. These opportunities will broaden your horizons and expand your networks. Topics covered in these talks include global health, environmental policy, big data, humanities, social science, and many other interdisciplinary fields.

Conferences

When at Duke, you have access to conferences organized by a wide range of student clubs, designed to help students in all programs dive deeper into industries like marketing, sustainability, finance, and healthcare. Each conference typically includes keynotes and panel discussions with managers and executives from different companies, discussing issues in the field or emerging trends. These events provide many informal opportunities to engage with alumni and recruiters in the industry, along with other formal networking receptions. You don’t need to be a member of the club to participate. Whether you’re exploring all options or pursuing a specific company interest, conferences help build your professional knowledge.

Here are a few examples:

Duke Kunshan University is uniquely positioned at the intersection between U.S. and Chinese relations. This, coupled with Duke’s commitment to providing the best resources possible, has allowed Duke Kunshan University to organize a series of conferences. Since its establishment, Duke Kunshan University has offered a variety of conferences, including the famous Duke International Forum. To date, the forum has covered topics such as China’s Role in the Global Innovation System, Spurring Investment to Green China’s Economy, and Artificial Intelligence--Drivers of Cross-Border Competition and Collaboration.

Consulting Projects

This experience is part of the Business Communication II course, which is delivered in Kunshan. Like a capstone project, this course aims to give you an opportunity to apply what you’ve learned. The knowledge you’ve gained throughout the program—both hard skills and soft skills—will be tested on a real consulting project with a real client in China.

The project usually takes place over 3 weeks. During this time, you and your team members will meet with a client who is facing real-world challenges. With the support of business strategy faculty and language faculty, you’ll work to develop recommendations and present these recommendations to the client at the end of the course. Through the project, you’ll experience what consulting is like and get a taste of doing business in China.

Past clients have included international and local companies such as Ctrip.com, the largest online travel company in China; the Konka Group, a leading Chinese manufacturer of consumer electronics; PwC Management Consulting; and VIP.com, a Chinese online fashion and accessories company, to name just a few.

体验式学习 – 管理学硕士 | 昆山杜克大学

体验式学习

你将走出课堂,走进真实的中美商业世界。虽然课程和小组合作体验是项目的核心所在, 探索如何将学到的概念运用到现实情况也是项目的重要一部分。你将有机会拜访企业,与业界领袖探究商业的诸多方面;掌握技能,树立信心,为成功的职业道路夯实基础。

企业参观

通过拜访企业,你可以眼观、耳听并感受企业经营之道。你将有机会参观工作场所,与员工和管理者见面,聆听嘉宾座谈,了解各个行业、工作职能、企业文化、商业挑战和就业机会。授课老师会一起参加部分参观活动。他们将帮你了解如何将商业概念和知识运用到真实的商业环境当中。无论在美国还是在中国校区,这些活动会有助于你将课堂所学与现实应用联系起来。反过来,这又能帮助你更清晰地了解各个行业职能,厘清自己的职业目标。

我们参观的企业括包括ABB、Burt’s Bee、Square1 银行、奥本海默等知名企业。你将有机会从多个不同方面了解经商之道,包括战略、运营、营销、风险资本、创业管理、社会影响等。

昆山杜克大学管理学硕士学生在中国拜访过的企业包括:

  • 上海:尼尔森,领先的全球信息提供商,致力于为客户提供关于消费者行为的市场洞察
  • 上海:彭博,具有全球影响力的金融、软件、数据和媒体企业, 产品和服务包括彭博终端、彭博新闻等
  • 上海:宜信,领先的中国金融科技公司,专门从事普惠金融和理财业务
  • 上海:特斯拉 ,美国最大的电动汽车及太阳能公司
  • 杭州:蚂蚁金服,阿里巴巴旗下金融公司
  • 昆山:捷安特,全球最大的自行车制造企业

嘉宾演讲

知名高管演讲系列活动已在美国富卡商学院举办了30余年。企业高管分享个人故事和职业故事,讲述他们主动改变商业世界的传奇经历,帮助你从内行人的视角把握他们所在行业的形势,了解他们的职业发展生涯。

曾经到访富卡的高管演讲嘉宾包括:

  • 蒂姆·库克(Tim Cook),苹果公司首席执行官 —观看YouTube视频
  • 丽莎·波德斯(Lisa Borders),美国职业女子篮球联赛总裁 — 观看YouTube视频
  • 贾德·林维尔(Jud Linville),花旗信用卡事业部首席执行官;阿贾伊·班加(Ajay Banga),万事达卡国际组织首席执行官 — 观看YouTube视频
  • 玛丽·巴拉(Mary Barra),通用汽车首席执行官 — 观看YouTube视频
  • 董明伦(Doug McMillon),沃尔玛首席执行官 — 观看YouTube视频
  • 马丁·邓普西(Martin Dempsey),前美国参谋长联席会议主席(已退休) — 观看YouTube视频
  • 孟鼎铭(Bill McDermott),SAP首席执行官 — 观看YouTube视频
  • 大卫·鲁宾斯坦(David Rubenstein),美国凯雷投资集团联合创始人兼联席执行官 — 观看YouTube视频
  • 罗杰·弗格森(Roger Ferguson),美国教师退休基金会首席执行官 — 观看YouTube视频

在中国学习时,你将享有昆山杜克大学提供的一切资源。

曾经到访昆山杜克大学的高管演讲嘉宾包括:

  • 劳拉·科勒(Laura Kohler),科勒公司人力资源和管理部高级副总裁
  • 徐小平和王强,真格基金创始人和联合创始人
  • 约翰·萨尔(John Sall),SAS联合创始人兼执行副总裁

除此以外,你还可以参加昆山杜克大学举办的一系列特邀嘉宾讲座,比如来自不同学术和行业背景的访问学者和企业嘉宾。这些机会将帮助你拓展视野,扩大人脉网络。此类讲座涉及的话题包括全球卫生、环境政策、大数据、人文科学、社会科学和诸多其他跨学科领域。

会议

在杜克大学就读期间,你可以参加众多学生俱乐部组织的各类会议,其目的是帮助各个项目的学生深入了解市场营销、可持续性、金融、医疗保健等行业的状况。每场会议一般都包括主题演讲和分组讨论,来自不同企业的经理和高管针对本行业的现状问题或新兴趋势展开讨论。这些活动为你提供了大量的非正式机会,你可以借此联络业界校友和招聘人员;另外,你还可以参加其他的社交联谊活动。即使不是俱乐部会员,你也可以参加这些活动。无论是为了全面发展,还是为了实现具体的职业目标,这些会议都能帮助你积累专业知识。

以下略举数例:

昆山杜克大学独具优势,在中美关系中发挥着桥梁作用。依托这一优势,加上杜克大学所带来的优质资源,昆山杜克大学成功组织了一系列会议。成立以来,昆山杜克大学组织的众多会议之中,包括著名的杜克国际论坛。迄今为止,论坛涵盖的主题包括中国在全球创新体系中的作用、促进中国绿色投资、人工智能——跨境竞争与合作的驱动因素等。

咨询项目

这是在昆山杜克大学开设的商务沟通 (二)课程的内容。类似于毕业设计,本课程旨在为你提供学以致用的机会。你将为真实客户提供咨询,解决现实难题,由此检验你所获得的商业知识,以及软硬技能。

该咨询项目通常持续3个星期。在此期间,你和小组成员将与客户见面,了解问题所在,并在商业战略导师和语言老师的支持下,提出建议,开展调查研究,并在课程结束时向客户展示你的专业商业建议。通过本项目,你将体会咨询工作的方法和流程,浅尝在中国的为商之道。

咨询项目的客户伙伴包括跨国公司和本土企业。曾经的项目伙伴包括携程、康佳集团、普华永道、唯品会等等,涵盖多个行业,给学生带来不同的商业考验 。