MMS: DKU Application Instructions

Before beginning the application process, consider carefully which program you wish to apply to - the MMS: Duke Kunshan University program (MMS: DKU) or the MMS: Foundations of Business program (MMS: FOB). Do your research and reflect upon which program best fits your career goals. Visit our Admissions webpage for further information and compare the two MMS programs here. Be sure to also review our Admissions Criteria page to determine your academic eligibility and your fit for the MMS: DKU program.

Below you will find detailed instructions about how to apply to the MMS: DKU program. We appreciate your attention to ensuring your application package is complete, because only complete application packages will be reviewed by the Admissions Committee. If you still have questions after reviewing the information below, please contact us.

Keep in mind that there are additional application requirements and instructions for non-US citizens without US permanent residency and re-applicants.

MMS: DKU Online Application

The online application includes sections on personal information and program information. The application asks for educational background, transcripts, a business resume, essays, among other information.

  • The application and recommendations can only be submitted online.
  • You will need to create a user ID and password to access the system. 
  • Detailed instructions are available in the online system.
  • You may access the application as many times as you like before submitting it.
  • Your application will not be evaluated until you submit it and all supporting materials are received and verified.
  • You may only apply to one round in a given admissions cycle.

Access the online application site now

Transcripts

  • Legible, scanned copies of all transcripts are required for each college or university you have attended.
  • Each course taken and the grade received must be listed on the transcript(s).
  • Your name, the name of the institution, the "degree received" and "date conferred" must be clearly visible on your transcripts. If you have not yet graduated, these will be listed as "expected degree received" and "expected date conferred."
  • If you have graduated, and your transcript(s) do not state the degree and date conferred, also upload a copy of your diploma in addition to the transcript.
  • Self-reported transcripts are not accepted. 

When to Submit Official Transcripts

If you are accepted into the MMS: Duke Kunshan University program, you must then submit official transcript(s) and translations (if applicable) from each college or university you attended. These copies must be received in conjunction with your tuition deposit at the designated deadline for your application round.

To complete this requirement, you may send an electronic copy of your official transcript(s) to transcripts@fuqua.duke.edu from each college or university you attended.  Or, you may elect to have hard copies sent in a sealed envelope directly from each college or university you attended to the address below:

Duke University
The Fuqua School of Business
Office of Admissions
100 Fuqua Drive, Box 90120
Durham, NC  27708-0120

Failure to submit official transcripts on time, or any misrepresentation, falsification, or omission of information, is grounds for automatic revocation of any offer of admission and financial assistance.

Transcript Requests

Refer to the "Transcript Request Form" in the "downloadable forms" section on the online application. This form may be sent to the registrar of each college or university you've attended. This form is not part of the official application; it's simply provided to assist you in obtaining required information for your application.

Essays & Short Answer Questions

Each MMS: DKU student brings a unique perspective to the program. The Admissions Committee wants to learn more about both your personal and professional motivations, and how you plan to contribute to the diversity of perspectives in your class. Respond to the following application questions and essays to allow us to get to know you better.

3 short answer questions and 2 essays are required for all applicants.

Required Short Answer Questions

Answer all three questions, responding in 500 characters only (the equivalent of about 100 words per question).

  1. Why are you pursuing the MMS: DKU degree at this stage in your professional development?
  2. What are your immediate career goals after completing the MMS: DKU program?
  3. Life is full of uncertainties, and plans and circumstances can change. As a result, navigating a career requires you to be adaptable. Should the immediate goals that you provided above not materialize, what alternative directions have you considered?

Essays

In addition to these three short answer questions, all applicants must submit two required essays. You also have the option to complete a scholarship essay, as well as an optional essay that supplies additional information the application may not cover. Refer to the Application Essays page for more details and to see the specific questions MMS: DKU applicants must address in these essays.

Resume

MMS: DKU applicants must supply a one page business resume, including employment information for volunteer work, internships and full- or part-time work experience. For each, include the location, title, date and responsibilities, starting with your most recent position. The education portion of your resume should include dates of attendance and degrees received from each institution.

Letters of Recommendation

Two recommendations are required to complete your application. Your recommenders must complete the online recommendation forms associated with the application. Recommenders must also submit a one-page letter (uploaded with the online recommendation form) that highlights:

  • Your interpersonal skills (e.g. effectiveness in establishing and maintaining relationships; working with peers, supervisors, and subordinates; willingness to work in a team environment)
  • Your potential areas for improvement or growth

One recommendation should reflect your performance in a professional setting — a job, internship, volunteer activity or other service-oriented role. Another recommendation should reflect your performance in an academic setting, and could come from someone such as a former professor.

Keep in mind that submissions by email or mail are NOT accepted, and recommendations from relatives and friends are strongly discouraged. Use your recommenders' work email addresses —  rather than personal accounts like Gmail, Sina, 163.net or Yahoo —  which will be more closely monitored in our credentials verification process.

Submission of GMAT or GRE Scores

To apply for the MMS: DKU program, you must take either the GMAT or GRE and have your scores sent directly to the Admissions office. We will accept scores up to five years old, and there is no minimum score requirement. However, if you are not satisfied with your score, you may retake the exam before submitting your application. If you take the exam multiple times, only report your highest score and any sub-scores from the same testing date. Your application will not be considered complete until we receive your official GMAT or GRE scores from the testing center.

If you choose to take the Graduate Management Admissions Test (GMAT):

If you choose to take the Graduate Record Examination (GRE):

Students in the Master of Management Studies: Duke Kunshan University program have the opportunity to study in both the US and China as they gain valuable business knowledge and career development skills. Interested in learning more? Contact us with any questions, or begin applying today!

申请说明

在开始申请之前,请先了解你希望申请哪个项目-: 昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目 (MMS: DKU) 或商务基础管理学硕士项目 (MMS: FOB) 。首先进行研究,思考哪一个项目更契合你的职业目标。浏览我们的入学申请网页,了解更多信息,并在此处比较这两项管理学硕士项目。亦请务必阅读录取标准页面,确定你的学习成绩达标以及昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目适合你。

下文详细介绍了如何申请昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目。请确保你的申请材料完整,因为只有完整的申请材料才可提交给招生委员会审查。如在阅读以下信息后仍有疑问,请联系我们

请注意,未获得美国永久居留权的非美国公民再次申请人,我们有额外的申请要求和说明。

在线申请

在线申请包含两个部分:个人信息和项目信息;同时申请系统会要求申请者提供教育背景、成绩单、简历、论述文及其他相关信息。

  • 申请和推荐信只能通过在线系统提交。
  • 你需要创立账户和密码才可以进入在线申请系统。
  • 在线申请系统包含更详细的申请步骤介绍。
  • 在正式提交申请之前,你可以不限次数地编辑、查看你的申请。
  • 我们只有在你提交了申请且我们收到并核实所有材料后才会对你的申请进行评阅。
  • 在每年招生期间,你只能在一个申请轮次申请一次。

马上开始申请

成绩单

  • 申请人需要提交曾就读的每所大学院校的所有官方成绩单的清晰扫描件。
  • 成绩单需列出你所修的每一门课程以及相应获得的学分。
  • 成绩单需注明你的名字,学校名称,授予学位,和授予日期。如果你尚未毕业,则要注明“预期授予学位”和“预期授予日期”。如果你已经毕业,但成绩单上未注明授予的学位和日期,请一并提交学位证书或毕业证书的复印件。
  • 我们不接受自报的成绩单和非官方成绩单扫描件。

什么时候提交官方成绩单

你被昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目录取后,必须提交曾就读的每所院校的官方成绩单原件和翻译件(如适用)。成绩单必须于你所在申请轮次的学费押金交付截止日期之前寄达。

你可以发送官方电子成绩单至transcripts@fuqua.duke.edu,或者可以直接从曾就读的院校邮寄密封好的成绩单至以下地址:

Duke University
The Fuqua School of Business
Office of Admissions
100 Fuqua Drive, Box 90120
Durham, NC  27708-0120

未能按时寄送官方成绩单,或者任何造假、故意的信息歪曲和遗漏等都将导致录取和助学金的自动取消。

绩单

你可前往在线申请页面的“下载表格”区域下载“成绩单申请表”,然后发送给你曾就读的每所院校的教务主任。此表格并非官方申请的一部分,仅做协助成绩单申请之用。

简答题与个人论述

每一位昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生都为本项目带来独特的视角。招生委员会希望更加了解你的个人和职业动机,以及你计划如何为课堂的观点多元化作贡献。回答以下简答题和论述题有助于我们更好地了解你。

所有申请者都需要完成3个简答题和2篇论述文。

简答题

回答以下所有三个问题,仅限 500 个字符(相当于每个问题约 100 个单词)。

  1. 你为何要在职业发展的这个阶段攻读昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学位?
  2. 你完成管理学硕士项目后的近期职业目标是什么?
  3. 生活充满了不确定性,计划和情况随时会发生改变。因此,在开拓事业旅程中,你需要随机应变。如果你上述的近期目标未能实现,你考虑了哪些备选方向?

个人论述

除了上述三道简答题外,所有申请人必须提交两篇个人论述。你也可以另外提交一篇奖学金申请文,以及额外一篇文章,陈述申请中没有涵盖的其他信息。参阅申请论文页面,了解更多详情,并了解项目申请人在这些论文中须回答的具体问题。

简历

昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目申请人必须提供一份一页纸的正式简历,内含志愿者工作、实习和全职或兼职工作等信息。从最近的工作职位开始描述每一份工作,包括工作地点、职务、任职日期和职责。简历的教育部分应包含曾入读的每所学校的入学日期和所授予学位。

推荐信

申请时须附上两封推荐信。你的推荐人必须填写与申请相关的在线推荐表。推荐人还必须提交一份一页纸的信函(与在线推荐表一并上传),描述以下信息:

  • 你的人际交往能力(如是否能有效建立和维系关系;与同伴、主管和下属的合作;是否愿意在团队环境中工作)
  • 你可能需要改善或成长的地方

一封推荐信应反映你在以下职场环境中的表现:工作、实习、志愿者活动或其他服务型角色。另一封推荐信应反映你在学术环境中的表现,推荐人一般是以前的教授。

请注意,我们不会接受通过电子邮件或邮寄的申请材料,也坚决不提倡来自亲戚和朋友的推荐。使用你的推荐人的工作邮箱,而非个人邮箱,如 Gmail、新浪、163.net 或雅虎邮箱,因为工作邮箱在我们对推荐的验证过程中更被关注。

提交GMAT或GRE分数

要申请就读昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目,你必须参加GMAT或GRE 考试,然后将成绩直接发送到招生办公室。我们将接受五年内的成绩,没有最低分数要求。但是,如果你对自己的成绩不满意,可以在提交入学申请前重新参加考试。如果你多次参加了考试,则只需提交你的最高分和同天考试的任何分项分数。我们从测试中心收到你的官方GMAT或GRE成绩后,你的申请方告完成。

如果你选择参加GMAT考试:

  • 使用杜克大学项目代码Q13-N5-62
  • 请注意,成绩可能需要20天才能寄到我们的办公室,因此,请相应计划好你参加考试的日期
  • 请单击此处,了解关于登记和发送成绩的信息

如果你选择参加GRE考试:

  • 使用杜克大学项目代码5156,及工商管理部门代码4201
  • 请注意,成绩可能需要四到六周才能寄到我们的办公室,因此,请相应计划好你参加考试的日期
  • 请单击此处,了解关于登记和发送成绩的信息

昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生有机会在中美两国学习,获得宝贵的商业知识和职业发展技能。想要了解更多信息?请联系我们,或立即开始申请