Campus Life in the US & China as an MMS: DKU Student

When you join the Master of Management Studies: Duke Kunshan University program, you can enjoy the best of two campuses in two countries — Duke's Fuqua School of Business in the US and Duke Kunshan University in China — each campus boasting state-of-the-art facilities for both work and play. Your experience as a MMS: DKU student involves a balance of academics, career development and social activities with your classmates and other students. You can be sure your unique campus life experience in both the US and China will be one you will value for years to come.

Life in Durham, NC

Duke's Fuqua School of Business at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, isn't just the location for your US residency; it's your home. Located in the center of the state between beautiful mountains and sunny beaches, Durham offers the best of city, suburban and rural living. Here, you can find a bustling downtown area, convenient suburban shopping, and the serenity of Duke Forest.

Rated one of the United States' most liveable areas and hottest places for business by Money, Fortune, Forbes, Entrepreneur magazines and others, the Triangle metropolitan area is home to more than 1.3 million people. Durham is part of central North Carolina's Research Triangle Park area, a 7,000-acre development the features more than 150 companies — from Fortune 100 multinational operations to innovative start-ups. It is also one of the most well-educated areas in the US, with one of the highest PhDs-per-capita, thanks in part to four universities — Duke and North Carolina Central University in Durham; North Carolina State University in Raleigh; and the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill.

Learn more about our diverse stateDurham, and Duke and Durham as community partners. Together, the city and our University make Fuqua the perfect place for you to learn, grow and explore. We're not the only ones who think we're special — below are a few of Durham’s accolades:

Ranked #3 Best Place for Business and Careers by Forbes in 2009
Ranked #5 on Relocate-America’s 2009 Top 100 Places to Live
Ranked #4 on the NBC Today Show’s list of Most Livable Cities in America
Ranked one of 10 Best Places to Live in America by U.S. News & World Report in 2009
Tied for #11 on Market Watch’s list of the Best Cities for Business in 2011
Ranked #2 on The Atlantic’s list of US Cities with Most Leftover to Spend After Paying for Housing
And more!

Campus Life at Duke’s Fuqua School of Business

Life on this beautiful campus is unique. Brimming with a diverse culture that includes students, faculty, staff and their families, there is a strong sense of camaraderie here. From the time you set foot on campus, you will be embraced as part of "Team Fuqua."

The Duke campus rests within the serenity of the Duke Forest, a living ecological laboratory and refuge for a variety of plant and animal species, and Fuqua is located in the heart of Duke's West Campus.

There’s always plenty to do on campus — there are more than 400 university student groups in addition to the MMS-specific clubs, and you're just a five-minute walk to the legendary Cameron Indoor Stadium — hallowed ground for Duke basketball fans.

Our community values collaboration and rallies behind your success. Our culture was built on the idea that people can accomplish more together than alone. It's what makes us one of the finest business schools in the world, and what will make you one of the best in your industry.

Student Life Student Life

Housing in Durham, NC

Durham has a good range of off-campus housing options available for students. The Durham, Chapel Hill and Raleigh areas are touted as one of the best places to live in the country, due in part to the affordable standard of living. However, you should expect your living expenses for the first month to exceed the average due to start-up costs. Below are estimates of some of these costs, though this list is not complete and represents only estimates of charges. Expenses will vary.

Airport taxi - $35-40
Hotel (one night) - $70-150
Car rental - $175-250
First month’s rent - $400-1,200
Deposit for apartment - $400-1,200 (usually one month’s rent)
Deposit for electricity - $100-1,000
Furniture - $200-1,000
Household Supplies - $200

Life in Kunshan, China

MMS: DKU students have the unique privilege of spending a portion of their program in the thriving city of  Kunshan, China, a hub for business and high-tech research and manufacturing companies. Living in Kunshan is an experience like no other — students will have the opportunity to immerse themselves in the culture of the city while also taking advantage of proximity to Shanghai, a world-renowned metropolis for big business that provides countless opportunities for experiential learning and corporate visits.

Campus Life at Duke Kunshan University

The Duke Kunshan University campus is a place for learning, living and growing in a spacious, modern setting that encourages the pursuit of knowledge within and beyond the classroom. Multi-purpose meeting spaces and breakout rooms, study areas and a dedicated library allow students to work individually or in groups using leading information technology to instantly connect to colleagues and classmates around the world. Bi-lingual (Chinese and English) professional staff members are available to assist students with personal and academic issues, and to enhance their abilities to learn.

campus-life

The five buildings of Duke Kunshan University campus also provide generous space for dining, social events, recreation and relaxation, just a short distance from both Suzhou and Shanghai. Students may take advantage of scheduled transportation opportunities for easy access to local shopping, dining, recreation and cultural activities in these nearby cities.

Students can utilize an indoor exercise room on the DKU campus in addition to nearby recreation facilities for swimming, bowling, squash, badminton, tennis and basketball through the Kunshan Sports Center.

Housing in Kunshan

To foster interaction among people from diverse backgrounds and academic interests, all undergraduate and graduate/professional students at DKU live together on the newly constructed campus. Each student occupies a single room, which is equipped with a closet, study desk and chair, bed, and computer network connections. Meals are provided in the main campus dining facility and several smaller venues offering coffee and light snacks. On-site laundry services are also available.

Master of Management Studies: Duke Kunshan University students have the unique opportunity to experience life on campus in both the US and China while receiving a world-class business education. Interested in learning more? Contact us with any questions, or begin the admissions process today.

学生在美国和中国的校园生活

就读昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目,你可以同时享受美国杜克大学富卡商学院和中国昆山杜克大学这两座校园提供的顶尖学习和休闲设施。作为昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生,你需要在学术职业发展和社交活动中找到平衡点。你在中美两国的独特校园生活经历必定在未来几年成为你珍贵的回忆。

在美国北卡罗莱纳州达勒姆市生活

位于美国北卡罗莱纳州达勒姆市的杜克大学富卡商学院不只是你的居住之所,还是你温馨的家。达勒姆市位于美国北卡罗莱纳州中心,坐拥雄伟壮丽的山峰以及阳光明媚的海滩,城市、郊区与村庄生活完美交融。在这座城市里,你会看到熙熙攘攘的市中心、便利的郊区购物中心和宁静的杜克森林等一道道亮丽的风景。

达勒姆市被《金钱》、《财富》、《福布斯》、《企业家》等杂志评为全美最适合居住和最热门的商业区之一。这座三角形大都市区人口超过130万。达勒姆市属于美国北卡罗来纳州中心的三角研究园区的一部分。该园区占地7,000英亩,有超过150家企业进驻,其中既有财富100强跨国公司,也有创新型的新兴公司。在一定程度上由于四所大学座落于此(位于达勒姆市的杜克大学和北卡罗来纳州中央大学、位于罗利的北卡罗来纳州立大学和位于教堂山的北卡罗来纳大学教堂山分校),达勒姆市成为美国教育氛围最为浓厚的地区之一,也是博士学位密度最高的城市之一。

进一步了解我们的多元化州达勒姆市杜克大学与达勒姆市的社区合作伙伴关系。达勒姆市与杜克大学共同将富卡商学院打造成为你学习、成长和探索的理想学院。并非我们自诩特别,下面列举了部分达勒姆市所获得的荣誉:

  • 2009 年,在《福布斯》杂志最佳经商和职业发展城市评选中位列第三
  • 2009 年,在 Relocate-America 网站 100 个最适宜居住的城市位列第五
  • 在 NBC《今日秀》节目全美最宜居城市评选中位列第四
  • 2009 年,被《美国新闻与世界报道》评为全美最适宜居住的十大城市之一
  • 2011 年,在《市场观察》(MarketWatch) 网站的最佳经商城市排名中并列第 11 名
  • 在《大西洋月刊》 (Atlantic) 支付住房开支后盈余最高的美国城市评选中位列第二
  • 还有更多其他荣誉!

杜克大学富卡商学院的校园生活

在这座美丽校园的生活体验独一无二。学生、教授、职员及其家人共同构建了这座校园内满溢的多元文化。在这里,你会强烈地感受到互助友爱。从你踏入校园的第一步起,你就是“富卡团队”的一员。

杜克大学校园座落在静谧的杜克森林,这是一座天然的生态实验室,栖息着各种各样的动植物品种,而富卡商学院则位于杜克大学西校区的中心。

校园生活总是精彩纷呈—杜克大学拥有 400 个学生团体,还有管理学硕士生俱乐部。充满传奇色彩的卡梅隆室内篮球馆是杜克大学篮球粉丝们的圣地,步行仅需五分钟。

我们的社区注重合作,是你取得成功的有力支持。团结力量大,我们的文化正是建立在这一理念的基础之上。这让我们成为全世界最顶尖的商学院之一,也是让你成为业界翘楚的重要因素。

 

住在美国北卡罗莱纳州达勒姆市

杜克大学附近有不同的学生公寓可以选择。由于生活消费水平比较合理,达勒姆市、教堂山和罗利地区被誉为全美最佳居住地之一,但是你在开学初期的开销可能会超过平均水平。以下是部分费用的预估值,并未详尽列出所有费用且仅为估计费用。费用会有所变化。

机场出租车

$35-40

酒店(一晚)

$70-150

租车

$175-250

第一个月租金

$400-1,200

公寓押金

 $400-1,200(通常为一个月的租金)

电费押金

$100-1,000

家具

$200-1,000

家居用品

$200

生活在昆山

昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生有部分时间在中国昆山这座繁荣的城市学习。这里是商业、高科技研究和制造型企业的集散地。在昆山生活是一种独特的体验—学生将有机会沉浸在这座城市的文化氛围中,同时利用毗邻上海的优势,尽情享受在上海这座享誉全球的商业大都市进行体验式学习企业拜访的机会。

在昆山杜克大学的校园生活

昆山杜克大学校园提供宽敞、现代的学习、生活和成长环境,鼓励学生在课堂内外追求知识。校园内设有多功能会议厅、小组讨论室、学习区和图书馆,方便学生独立学习或运用先进的信息技术实时连接世界各地的同事与同学进行分组学习。专业的教职工精通中文和英文,随时协助学生解决个人和学术问题,并加强学生的学习能力。

校园内的五栋建筑还为学生提供宽敞的餐饮、社交活动、娱乐和休闲场所,毗邻上海与苏州等周边大都市。学生可以利用方便快捷的交通系统,到这些邻近城市购物、休闲和参加文化活动。

学生可以在校园的室内运动室锻炼,也可以到附近的昆山体育中心的游泳馆、保龄球馆、壁球馆、羽毛球馆、网球场和篮球场放松娱乐。

住在昆山

为了促进不同背景和学术兴趣的学生之间的互动交流,昆山杜克大学的全体本科生和研究生/职业人士学生共同住在新建的校园里。学生一人一间宿舍,宿舍内配备衣柜、镜子、学习桌椅、床和电脑网络连接。校区食堂供应一日三餐,还有若干小型咖啡吧供应咖啡和小吃。学校还提供校内洗衣服务。

昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生不仅可以接受世界一流的商业教育,还拥有在中美两国校园体验生活的独特机会。想要了解更多信息?请联系我们,或立即开始入学申请程序。