Career Resources – Master of Management Studies | Duke Kunshan University

Career Resources

You gain access to job search resources as soon as you begin the program, and you’ll continue using them throughout your experience in both Durham and Kunshan.

We offer private coaching sessions, industry exploration symposia, alumnus-student mentorship opportunities, and more. During your first three terms on Duke’s campus in Durham, NC, you’ll have access to Fuqua’s on-campus career resources and programs. You’ll also receive customized resources on campus at Duke Kunshan University in China, including career coaching, customized workshops, in-region corporate visits, and local alumni panels.

Coaching and Mentoring

Our professional career coaches help you find the career opportunities that fit your interests and skills. Whether you’re in Durham or in Kunshan, these coaches are available for one-on-one sessions by appointment, either in person or via online communication channels such as Skype. While you’re in Durham, you can also attend walk-up hours between classes to chat informally with an advisor.

CAM Program

Additionally, alumni volunteers of Fuqua’s MBA and MMS programs work with MMS students one-on-one through our Career Advisor for MMS (CAM) program. These alumni share firsthand experiences, help you sharpen your resume and cover letter, and build your interviewing skills through mock interviews. You can request to work with alumni based on your chosen industry, adding another dimension of personalization.

Workshops

We engage you in the job search process from orientation through graduation. The Fuqua Career Management Center holds career workshops that build on the fundamentals taught in your Business Communications courses and provide additional insight to help you put your best foot forward when entering the job market.

Offerings are customized to meet your class’s needs and include:

  • Industry Panel Discussions

    Panel discussions with alumni and corporate representatives give you an in-depth look at potential business careers.

  • Relationship-Building

    Networking is an essential professional skill, regardless of your career goals. Learn how to build and manage your network, request information, and get tips on informational interviewing.

  • Branding and Developing a Strategic Job Search Plan

    Develop a strategic plan for branding and marketing yourself. Once you make a plan, a CMC coach will review it and help align your goals with effective actions.

  • Professional Communication and Resume Development

    Learn useful guidelines for creating a professional cover letter and resume that best represent your passions and interests. You'll work one-on-one with a career coach to refine your resume, and will exchange resumes with your classmates to receive additional feedback.

  • Interviewing

    Learn how to respond to behavioral and case questions that are commonly asked during job interviews, and practice one-on-one in mock interviews with coaches and classmates.

Corporate Visits

On-site visits are an ideal way to get firsthand knowledge of a company or industry. MMS student clubs may organize corporate visits to organizations in cities like Atlanta, New York, and Washington, D.C., while visits in and around Kunshan and Shanghai will take place during your China residency. Suzhou Industrial Park, where 88 of the Fortune 500 companies have invested, is only a short trip from Duke Kunshan University, and the world business capital of Shanghai is just a 20-minute train ride away.

Career Fairs

During your U.S. residency, you'll benefit from career fairs that expose you to various industries and provide opportunities for you to network with company representatives, recruiters, and potential employers.

Recruiting

Using the resources at Fuqua, at Duke Kunshan University, and within Duke's expansive global alumni network, you can count on interacting with a variety of employers. Our corporate relations staff helps recruiters find and hire MMS students through on-campus events, interviews, and job postings.

Recruiting events include panel discussions, recruiting receptions, office hours where you engage in casual interactions with business professionals, corporate presentations, interactive webinars, and company meet-and-greets.

On-campus recruiting activities during your U.S. residency often include first-round interviews for eligible students, typically beginning in September. In the spring, you’ll have the opportunity to make connections with international and national organizations in China.

Virtual Resources

The Ford Library

To aid your job search efforts, the staff at Duke’s Ford Library offers customized service and access to proprietary business databases.

Duke Kunshan Library

When studying at Duke Kunshan, you’ll retain full access to the Ford Library, but you’ll also gain access to the resources at the Duke Kunshan Library. These include electronic business journals, business reports, and Wind Financial Terminals.

Career Services System

A one-stop shop for recruiting and career search information, the Fuqua Global Talent System is our internal career services website, where you can find job postings and contacts throughout the year.

Resume Database

Fuqua's digital resume database increases your chance of catching the eye of a headhunter.

Online Mock Interviews

InterviewStream is an innovative learning tool that enhances your job interviewing skills by creating a compelling simulated interview experience.

Professional Clubs

To help you develop professional tools and skills, the student-run MMS Association (MMSA) organizes career-focused events for you to get firsthand advice on topics like job search tactics, effective networking, and career experience.

Community and Networks

When you join the MMS: Duke Kunshan program, you’ve joined a supportive global community of alumni, with an incredibly passionate cohort in East Asia. You’ll also be a member of the Fuqua family. As soon as you start the program, you’ll be able to access and search Fuqua's database of 22,000+ alumni, using criteria like program, graduation year, industry, company, job function, or geographic location. You'll also have access to Duke University’s full alumni database of 170,000+. Networking with alumni helps you learn more about the industries or organizations you are interested in.

Throughout the program, you’ll have ample opportunities to interact with alumni, both on and off campus. You’ll be able to attend events such as Fuqua Around the World, and alumni gatherings organized by local and regional alumni associations.

On top of a great academic reputation, Fuqua has unparalleled resources when it comes to career opportunities, networking events, guest speakers, and social engagements. I really maximized my tuition through extensive access to many events and opportunities.
— Ashley McNeil, Class of 2017, United States

职业资源 – 管理学硕士 | 昆山杜克大学

职业资源

无论在美国达勒姆还是中国昆山,你均可享用各种就业指导资源。

我们提供一对一辅导、行业讨论会、校友-学生辅导等诸多机会。在北卡罗来纳州达勒姆杜克大学校园学习的前三个短学期,你可以使用富卡商学院的校园招聘资源,参与相关活动。在中国昆山杜克大学校园,你同样将获得个性化资源,包括求职辅导、行业研讨会、企业拜访、校友座谈会等。

就业辅导老师

我们的专业就业辅导老师会帮你寻找契合你的兴趣和技能的就业机会。无论在美国达勒姆还是在中国昆山,你可以轻松地与老师预约当面或是远程一对一就业辅导。

校友辅导员项目

另外,富卡商学院MBA和管理学硕士项目的校友志愿者,会通过我们校友辅导员项目,对管理学硕士项目的学生进行一对一指导。校友辅导员会分享亲身经历,帮助你完善简历和求职信,并通过模拟面试帮助你掌握面试技巧。你可以基于你感兴趣的行业、职能等等,申请相关背景的校友做你的辅导员。

研讨会

从开学伊始直至毕业,我们为你全程提供求职指导。除了在商务沟通课程中提供的系统指导,富卡商学院管理学硕士就业指导中心会举办各种职业研讨会,为你提供额外支持,帮助你以最佳状态进入就业市场。

个性化的研讨会主题包括:

  • 行业座谈会

    通过与校友和企业代表座谈,帮你挖掘潜在的就业机会。

  • 人脉关系管理

    无论你的职业目标是什么,社交联谊都是必不可少的专业技能。你将学习如何构建和管理你的人脉网络,获取相关信息,并掌握信息性面试的技巧。

  • 塑造个人品牌并制定求职策略

    制定一份策略性计划,塑造个人品牌并推销自己。制定计划后,就业指导中心的老师会给出建议,帮你把求职目标与有效的行动统一起来。

  • 专业沟通和简历制作

    学习如何制作出最能彰显你的激情和兴趣的专业求职信和简历。你将与职业导师一对一地完善你的简历,并与同学交换简历,获得更多的反馈意见。

  • 面试

    学习如何回答求职面试中常见的行为问题和案例问题,与导师和同学进行模拟面试。

企业参观

现场参观是获得对企业或行业第一手知识的最佳方式。管理学硕士学生俱乐部可能会组织企业拜访活动,参观亚特兰大、纽约、华盛顿特区等城市的企业;在昆山学习期间,则会安排参观昆山和上海及周边地区的企业。昆山杜克大学距离拥有88家财富500强企业的苏州工业园只有一小段路程,距离作为世界商业中心的上海,乘坐高铁也只需要20分钟。

招聘会

在美国就读期间,你可以借助各种招聘会,了解各个行业,并与公司代表、招聘人员和潜在雇主建立联系。

招聘活动

借助富卡商学院、昆山杜克大学和杜克大学庞大的全球校友网络提供的丰富就业资源,你将获得与各类雇主交流的机会。此外,通过校园活动、面试和招聘广告,你将有机会与企业招聘代表直接沟通就业机会。

招聘活动形式多样,包括小组讨论、招聘招待会、企业介绍、网络宣讲和公司见面会等等。

在美国就读期间,校招活动通常包括对符合条件的学生的第一轮面试,这项活动通常从9月开始。第二年春季,你将有机会与驻在中国境内的国内外企业展开交流。

电子资源

福特图书馆:

杜克大学福特图书馆的员工可以为你提供定制服务,开放专有商业数据库。

昆山杜克大学图书馆:

在昆山杜克大学就读期间,你不但可以继续远程访问福特图书馆,还可以使用昆山杜克大学图书馆的丰富资源,其中包括电子商业期刊、商业报告、和万得金融终端。

就业服务系统:

富卡全球人才系统(Fuqua Global Talent System)是我们内部的就业服务网站,是一站式的招聘和求职信息平台,在这里,你可以随时查找工作岗位和联系人。

简历数据库:

富卡商学院的数字简历数据库可帮助你提高吸引猎头注意的几率。

在线模拟面试:

InterviewStream是一款新型学习工具,通过营造逼真的模拟面试场景,帮助你提高面试技能。

专业俱乐部

管理学硕士学生会会组织一些职业类活动,帮助你在求职策略、有效拓展人脉、职业经验等方面获取更多体验和建议。

人脉网络

加入昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目,意味着你加入了一个高度活跃的全球人脉网络,为你的职业发展提供强大支持。 你将成为富卡大家庭的一员。项目一旦开始,你就能根据项目、毕业年份、行业、公司、工作职能、地区等标准,访问和搜索富卡商学院包括22,000多名校友的数据库。与此同时,你还能访问杜克大学校友总库,其中包括170,000多名校友。与校友交流有助于你深入了解感兴趣的行业和企业。

在整个项目期间,你有大量的机会,在校园内外与校友互动,包括“富卡全球活动”(Fuqua Around the World)活动,以及由各地校友协会组织的校友聚会等活动。

在出色的学术声誉之外,杜克大学富卡商学院有着无与伦比的资源帮助我们发展职业,包括就业机会、社交活动,嘉宾演讲等等。通过这些活动和机会,我在管理学硕士项目真正地学有所得,学超所值。
— Ashley McNeil ,2017届,美国