MMS: DKU Academic Courses & Curriculum

The business world is booming, and you have 10 months to prepare. Beginning in July each year and running through mid-May, the Master of Management Studies: Duke Kunshan University program is organized into multiple 6- and 2-week terms, with a total of 15 courses. All courses are conducted in English, and Mandarin proficiency is not needed to attend the MMS: DKU program. The streamlined MMS: DKU curriculum and course structure is designed to immerse you in business as quickly as possible, without sacrificing substance and quality.

MMS: DKU classes give you the tools, framework and vocabulary you need to enter the world of business with a solid foundation. Our extensive curriculum features quantitatively rigorous courses, as well as thought-provoking classes that challenge you to apply course material to real-world business. This combination of courses challenges students to apply their previous knowledge and strong business education background in order to analytically, creatively and intelligently find solutions to complex problems.

Below are descriptions of the courses you will take throughout the MMS: DKU program. Please note that the actual course sequence is subject to change from one academic year to the next.

Introduction to Financial Accounting

This financial accounting course develops your ability to read, understand and utilize corporate financial reports. Discover the basics of bookkeeping, accounting terminology and fundamental accounting concepts, including the definitions of financial statement elements. Explore the accounting treatments of key transactions and understand how financial reports portray the effects of underlying economic events, using this knowledge to infer about future profitability. Learning the financial reporting process allows MMS: DKU students to properly evaluate information provided by firms in published financial statements.

Business Communication I

Strong communication skills are critical  to success in today's global business environment. The ability to communicate effectively, using the broad range of media available, is important in a business setting in order to impact and influence an organization. One typically thinks of communication skills as focusing solely on the written and spoken word; however, it is equally critical to have a strong skill set in communicating with spreadsheet modeling and analytical tools. The ability to communicate effectively is also essential in order for one to develop and execute a successful job search strategy.

To provide exposure to the broad range of communication skills needed for success as an MMS student, the Business Communication I course is divided into three tracks: one dealing with classic communication skills, including oral, written, and presentation; one focused on Excel, particularly as it relates to effective communication in the role of an analyst-level position; and one concerning Career Management Center activities, tied to the effective job search and associated activities. Learn more about how our Business Communication courses can assist in your upcoming job search.

Quantitative Business Analysis

The Quantitative Business Analysis course provides an introduction to the analytical foundations of decision-making, dealing with important topics about structuring, analyzing and answering decision problems. The course begins with an introduction to probability, random variables and their properties. These topics serve as the basis for examining how to use sample data to make informed decisions about entire populations, both with point estimates and with confidence intervals. The course then provides an overview of regression analysis as a way to find associations between a dependent variable and independent variables, for improved understanding and/or for prediction purposes. The course concludes with an examination of the use of functions to describe business problems and with the use of optimization as a way to find best solutions.

Fundamentals of Business Economics

Learn the fundamentals of supply and demand analysis, the basic tool for understanding competition and the market determination of prices and quantities. In this course, you will study the ideologies surrounding consumer choices, as well as production and cost theory, and also develop valuable tools for market structure analysis and game theory.

Introduction to Marketing Analysis

Learn the principles, processes and tools necessary to analyze markets and design optimal marketing programs. Assess marketing opportunities by analyzing the three Cs — customers, competitors and your own company. This course provides MMS: DKU students with the opportunity to design effective marketing programs using appropriate strategies for pricing, promotion, place and product — also known as the four Ps. Modern marketing philosophy holds that only those firms that provide high customer value can succeed in the long run, and this course will teach you how to create that value.

Foundations of Capital Markets

In this course, explore the fundamental principles of asset valuation, investments and investment management. Topics include time value of money and discounting, diversification and risk, arbitrage and hedging, asset allocation, asset pricing models, active portfolio management, performance evaluation and the interaction between capital markets and the macroeconomy.

Principles of Strategy

Identify business opportunities in dynamic, competitive environments and, in turn, develop the skills necessary to be an effective strategy analyst as part of any business position. Tackle the complexity of analyzing competition in this era of globalization, changing firm boundaries, and increasing uncertainty. In this course, MMS: DKU students will develop strategic thinking by learning the concepts, models and tools of strategic analysis, and apply them to competitive situations. Learn to assess a firm's strategic position with respect to competition, the larger industry and customers, given the firm's internal resources and capabilities.

Foundations of Corporate Finance

In this course, essential for those interested in work as a financial analyst, MMS: DKU students will examine important issues in corporate finance from the perspective of financial managers responsible for making investment and financing decisions. The concept of net present value, suitably adapted to account for taxes, uncertainty and strategic concerns, is used to analyze how investment and financing decisions interact to affect the value of the firm. Assess the coverage of capital budgeting, and observe and track the interaction between taxes and the cost of capital. Additionally, you’ll study the treatment of dividend policy and capital market efficiency as they relate to the value-maximization objective of the firm.

Fundamentals of Market Intelligence

In this course, MMS: DKU students will gather, analyze and interpret data about markets and customers, as well as learn to define decision problems and determine what information is needed. This includes engaging in "backward marketing research" by envisioning decisions that will be made based on the research. Examine how to acquire trustworthy and relevant data, and judge its quality by utilizing secondary research, such as internal customer databases or knowledge management systems. Students will understand these analysis skills in the context of common marketing decision problems, including target market selection, new product or service introduction, customer retention and pricing.

Principles of Cost & Managerial Accounting

This course involves the study of the use of accounting information for internal decision-making and control purposes, as opposed to the external disclosure focus of the financial accounting course. Students will integrate accounting principles with ideas from microeconomics, data analysis, decision analysis, finance, and operations management. The topical coverage of the course emphasizes the design of management accounting systems for analyzing costs in the context of the firm's business model, and the use of managerial accounting data in planning and controlling operations.

Spreadsheet Modeling & Decision Analysis

Successful management requires the ability to recognize a decision situation, understand its essential features, and make a smart choice; however, in the business world, the stakes may be too high to learn by experience. Instead, MMS: DKU students will use decision models — simplified representations of situations involving uncertainty and/or complex interactions to help you gain the necessary skills to make the best decision. In this course, you’ll discover commonly used modeling tools — including decision trees, Monte Carlo simulation, and optimization — and learn the art of modeling in a Microsoft Excel environment.

Foundations of Management & Organizations

Be an effective leader and manager of others, whatever your level in the organization. In this course, learning teams of students will examine practices that make groups more efficient and adaptable, and that help harness diversity and enhance innovation. Study the theory and practice of negotiation, improve your personal contribution to your team or firm, and discover how to lead so others respect and listen to your views and opinions.

Fundamentals of Financial Analysis

This course focuses on financial analysis of a firm and the valuation of its shares. Analyze and interpret financial statements with the use of publicly available sources of financial information. MMS: DKU students will develop important Excel modeling skills pertaining to financial planning, analysis and valuation while building on prior coursework in financial accounting, strategy, managerial accounting, investments and corporate finance. Evaluate the financial implications of a firm's articulated strategy, and use that information to project the firm's future financial statements and forecasted share prices through the application of various valuation techniques.

Introduction to Operations & Supply Chain Management

This course involves the study of the basic facts and principles of supply chain processes and activities —  from the extraction of raw materials, through transportation and processing, to the delivery of finished products to the customer. MMS: DKU students will be exposed to crucial decisions concerning infrastructure investments, the quantities to produce and ship, the timing of shipments, where to hold inventories, and which firms should be responsible for which activities. The management of supply chains is difficult and complicated, but essential in the modern economy.

Business Communications II

The focus of this course is to continue building on the communication and career management skills acquired in Business Communication I through a team-based consulting project with a real client.  The course objective is developing the oral, written and presentation skills needed for success in a team-based work environment, with an emphasis on effectively communicating with clients and supervisors through email, memos, telephone calls and spreadsheets and creating team-based presentations and reports related to the consulting projects with local companies.

Master of Management Studies: Duke Kunshan University students will experience a hands-on, collaborative, business education through rigorous courses held on campus at both Duke University in Durham, NC, and at Duke Kunshan University in Kunshan, China. Contact us for further information, or begin your application today!

学术课程与课程设置

商业世界正蓬勃发展,而你有 10 个月的时间做好准备。昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目于每年七月份开学,第二年五月中旬结束,分为数个为期 2 周和 6 周的短学期,一共 15 门课。所有课程均用英语教学,参加该项目的学生无需精通普通话。课堂注重模拟实践、讨论和创新思维等训练,昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目课程的精炼结构旨在保证项目质量的前提下让你尽快沉浸到商业环境中。

昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目为你提供进入商业世界所需的工具、框架和词汇,助你打下坚实的基础。学习涉及范围广泛,包含大量严谨的理论课程以及发人深思的实践课程,帮助你将课堂知识运用到真实的商业世界。这样的课程组合要求学生运用以前所学的知识和商业教育,通过分析,以创新的方式找出复杂问题的解决方案。

以下是昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目所设课程的简要介绍。请注意,实际的课程顺序因学年而异。

财务会计基础

财务会计课程培养你阅读、理解和运用企业财务报表的能力,探究记账、会计术语和会计基本概念的基本要素,包括财务报表要素的定义,探索重要交易的会计处理方式,理解财务报表如何反映潜在经济事件的影响,并利用这一知识推断未来的盈利能力。学习财务汇报流程让项目学生学会正确评估公司发布的财务报表信息。

商务沟通 I

良好的沟通技巧对于在当今全球商业环境中取得成功至关重要。利用广泛的可用媒体进行有效沟通的能力在商业环境中非常重要,这种能力可以影响一个组织。人们通常会认为沟通技巧仅在于书面和口头语言。然而,具备利用电子表格建模和分析工具进行沟通的强大技能同样重要。有效沟通的能力对于制定和实施成功的求职策略同样必不可少。

为了向管理学硕士生提供取得成功所需的广泛沟通技巧,商务沟通 I 课程分为三大部分:一部分教授传统的沟通技巧,包括口头、书面沟通和演讲;一部分教授如何使用 Excel,特别适用于分析师级别的职位人士;一部分和就业指导中心的活动关联,着眼于求职等相关活动。请进一步了解我们的商务沟通课程如何为你的未来求职提供帮助。

定量商业分析

定量商业分析课程介绍决策制定的分析基础,学习关于构建、分析和回答决策问题的重要课题。课程首先介绍概率、随机变量及其属性。这些课题为深入研究如何使用样本数据来作出关乎整体(既有点估计值,又有置信区间)的明智决定奠定了基础。课程随后对回归分析进行概述,找出因变量和自变量之间的关联,以便加强理解和/或用于预测。课程结束时会进行测验,考查利用函数描述商业问题以及利用最优化原则找出最佳解决方案。

商业经济学基本原理

学习供求分析的基本原理、理解竞争的基本工具以及价格和数量的市场决定因素。在本课程中,你将学习关于消费者选择的理论,以及生产和成本理论,还将学习有价值的工具,用于分析市场结构和博弈理论。

市场营销分析基础

学习分析市场和设计最佳营销计划所需的原理、流程和工具。通过分析“3C”—customers(客户)、competitors(竞争对手)和 company(自己的公司)来评估营销机会。本课程为学生提供机会,利用相应的pricing(定价)、promotion(促销)、place(地点)、product(产品),又称为“4 P” 策略,设计有效的营销活动。现代营销理念认为,只有提供高水平顾客价值的企业才能长期取得成功,而本课程将教授你如何创造这种价值。

资本市场基础

本课程将探究资产估值、投资和投资管理的基本原理。课题包括货币的时间价值、贴现、分散投资与风险、套利与对冲、资产配置、资产定价模式、主动式投资组合管理、绩效评估,以及资本市场与宏观经济的交互作用。

企业战略原理

在动态的竞争环境中识别商业机会,同时发展高效策略分析师所需的技能。处理分析当今全球化时代的竞争状态、不断变化的企业界限和不断增加的不明朗情势的复杂问题。在本课程中,昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生将通过学习战略分析的概念、模型和工具并将所学运用到竞争环境中来培养战略思维。学会在考虑企业的内部资源和实力后,就竞争、行业和客户方面,评估该企业的战略地位。

公司财务基础

本课程对热衷于成为财务分析师的学生而言必不可少。昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生将站在财务经理(负责制定投资与融资相关的决策)的角度对公司财务中的重要问题进行审查。分析投资和融资决策如何相互作用影响企业的价值时,将用到净现值(为纳税目的而适当纳入会计报表)的概念,并考虑不明朗因素和战略问题。评估资本预算的覆盖范围,并观察和追踪税务和资本成本之间的相互作用。此外,你将学习与企业的值最大化目标相关的股利分配政策和资本市场效率。

市场情报基本原理

在本课程中,昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生将收集、分析和阐释与市场和客户相关的数据,并学习明确决策问题以及确定需要哪些信息。学生将参与“后向市场调查”,并根据该调查制定决策。检查如何获取可靠的相关数据,通过利用二次调查(如内部客户数据库或知识管理系统)判断数据的质量。在了解常见的市场策略问题(包括目标市场选择、新产品或服务介绍、客户维系和定价)后,学生将理解这些分析技巧。

成本与管理会计原理

本课程内容包括学习如何将会计信息用于内部决策的制定和掌控,与财务会计课程的对外披露焦点不同。学生将把会计原理与来自微观经济、数据分析、决策分析、财务和运营管理中的信息整合在一起。本课程重点讲述管理会计制度的设计(用以在企业的业务模式背景下分析成本),以及在规划和控制运作中对管理会计数据的使用。

电子表单建模与决策分析

成功的管理需要具备以下能力:清楚认识决策的情势,了解情势的基本特征,然后作出明智的选择。然而,在商业世界,从经验中吸取教训的代价未免太大。因此,昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生将运用决策模型—一种简化的情景模型,包括不确定性和/或复杂的交互作用,帮助你学会作出最佳决策所需的技巧。在本课程中,你将发现常用的建模工具—包括决策树、蒙特卡罗模拟法和最优化模型—并在 Microsoft Excel 环境中学习建模的艺术。

管理与组织基础

不管你在组织中的级别如何,你都需要成为卓有成效的领导者和管理者。在本课程中,学生将组成学习小组,深入探究如何让小组更富成效和更具适应力,以及如何利用多元化和加强创新的做法。学习谈判的理论与实践,提高你对团队或公司的贡献,学习有效领导方法,并获得他人的尊重并倾听你的观点和意见。

财务分析基本原理

本课程着重学习公司财务分析及股票估值。利用公开的财务信息分析和阐释财务报表。昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生将在学习之前的财务会计、战略、管理会计、投资和公司财务课程的基础上发展与财务规划、分析和估价相关的重要 Excel 建模技巧。评价一家企业已定策略的财政影响,并使用该信息计划该企业未来的财务报表,以及通过运用各种估价技巧来预测股价。

运营和供应链管理介绍

本课程学习供应链流程和活动的基本原理—从原材料的提取、运输和加工,到最后将成品送达客户。昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生将会学习作出各种重要的决定,例如关于基础设施投资、生产和运输的数量、发货的时间安排、存货地点,以及企业各自应负责的活动等。供应链管理十分困难和复杂,但它却是现代经济中不可或缺的部分。

商务沟通 II

在商务沟通I的基础上,商务沟通II课程将继续提升学生的沟通和职业规划技能。学生将以小组为单位,为真实的公司提供咨询服务并展示研究成果和报告。课程着眼于提高学生在团队工作环境中不可或缺的口语、书面表达和展示技巧,以达到与客户、上级在邮件、纪要、电子表格和电话沟通等方式的有效沟通;如何通过小组合作完成展示和报告,也是这门课程的重点之一。

昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目学生将在位于美国北卡罗来纳州达勒姆市的杜克大学和中国昆山市的昆山杜克大学两地校园学习,接受严谨的、体验式的、培养合作精神的商业教育。如需更多信息,请联系我们,或立即申请入学