Living in Durham – Master of Management Studies | Duke Kunshan University

Living in Durham

Located in the center of North Carolina between beautiful mountains and sunny beaches, Durham offers the best of city, suburban, and rural living. Here, you can find a bustling downtown area, convenient suburban shopping, and the serenity of Duke Forest. The Raleigh-Durham area is home to more than 1.3 million people and is one of only seven Google Tech Hubs in North America, yet the city has kept its laid-back, small-town feel.

We're not the only ones who think Durham is special — below are a few of Durham’s most recent accolades:

  • Ranked #1 on Best City for Millennials by Forbes in 2017
  • Ranked #7 on National Center for Arts Research’s Top 10 Arts-Vibrant Medium Communities in 2018
  • Ranked #12 on Forbes’s list of Most Educated City in America in 2016
  • Ranked #13 on 100 Best Places to Live in the USA by U.S. News & World Report in 2018

      And more!

The Economy

Formerly a tobacco and textiles town, Durham has transformed into a global economic player driven by knowledge-based enterprises—including everything from software and information technology to film and TV production. Durham is home to the Research Triangle Park, which houses more than 250 companies, from Fortune 100 multinational corporations to innovative start-ups. Having employers like Cisco, Dupont, Fidelity, and IBM close by enables us to bring influential local speakers to campus, connect student clubs with business representatives, and tap nearly 2,500 local Fuqua alumni as mentors for students.

The Culture

Durham is an eclectic city, with a diverse mix of historical and cultural places, offbeat shopping, sports venues, arts festivals, music events, houses of worship, and great restaurants. Known for everything from laid-back Carolina BBQ joints to charming donut shops and trendy microbreweries, Durham was voted America’s foodiest small town by Bon Appetit.

Getting In and Out

The Durham-Raleigh International Airport is only 20 mins away from downtown Durham and the campus. Within just a few hours’ drive from campus are the Blue Ridge Mountains for hiking and mountain activities, the Atlantic coast for beaches and water sports, or the NC Sandhills area for championship golf. Washington D.C., is just 4 hours by car. As for planes, you can hop on a 1-hour flight to New York City or a direct flight to London.

Campus Life at Duke

Life on this beautiful campus is unique. Brimming with a diverse culture that includes students, faculty, staff, and their families, there is a strong sense of camaraderie here.

The Duke campus rests within the serenity of the Duke Forest, a living ecological laboratory and refuge for a variety of plant and animal species, and Fuqua is located in the heart of Duke's West Campus.

There’s always plenty to do on campus — there are more than 400 university student groups in addition to the MMS-specific clubs at Fuqua, and you're just a five-minute walk to the legendary Cameron Indoor Stadium — hallowed ground for Duke basketball fans.

Visit the Duke Chapel, an iconic symbol of the university with its Gothic architecture and stained glass windows, or explore Sarah P. Duke Gardens and its 5 miles of walkways. At the Nasher Museum of Art, see some of today’s best contemporary art, with a focus on work by artists of African descent. And at the Duke Lemur Center, visit the world’s largest colony of endangered primates.

The Fuqua Campus

Your MMS: Duke Kunshan University classes take place on Fuqua’s campus. The main building, with 490,500 square feet of space, is among the finest business education settings in the United States, equipped with classrooms, virtual classrooms, auditoriums, team rooms, and meeting spaces.

The Ford Library provides a serene, comfortable environment for studying and team meetings. It was designed for user comfort, with its abundant natural light, a variety of comfortable seating options, and generous display space. The Fox Student Center has a spacious indoor winter garden area, outdoor terraces, changing rooms with lockers and showers, a student communications center, additional office space, dining facilities, and a student lounge. The Fox Center serves as the hub of the business school—it’s where you’ll attend “Fuqua Fridays,” catered gatherings with fellow students, faculty, and staff.

For more information, please visit the “Campus” Page on the Fuqua website.

Housing in Durham

It’s easy to make your home here. In fact, the Durham area is touted as one of the best places to live in the country, partly because of its affordable standard of living. While housing options are plentiful in Durham, there is limited graduate student housing on Duke’s campus, so Fuqua students typically find off-campus housing. Near campus, there are many student apartments that offer 6-month leases.

If you need help with finding housing, you can ask the program staff and alumni. They’re a great source of information. You can also connect with your classmates before your program starts. Finding a good roommate can be the first step to finding housing!

达勒姆的生活 – 管理学硕士 | 昆山杜克大学

达勒姆的生活

达勒姆市位于美国北卡罗莱纳州中心,坐落在雄伟壮丽的山峰以及阳光明媚的海滩之间,城市、郊区与村庄生活完美交融。在这座城市里,你会看到熙熙攘攘的市中心、便利的郊区购物中心和宁静的杜克森林等一道道亮丽的风景。罗利-达勒姆三角区人口超过130万,北美仅有的七个谷歌科技中心之一也坐落于此,但这座城市仍保持着悠闲自在的小镇氛围。

达勒姆市获得过诸多荣誉,比如:

  • 2017年,在《福布斯》杂志最适合千禧一代的城市评选中排名第1位
  • 2018年,在国家艺术研究中心十大最具艺术活力的中等规模社区评选中排名第7位
  • 2016年,在《福布斯》杂志美国受教育程度最高城市评选中排名第12位
  • 2018年,在《美国新闻与世界报道》杂志全美最适宜居住的100大城市评选中排名第13位

经济

达勒姆曾是从事烟草与纺织业的小镇,现已转变为由知识型企业驱动的全球经济参与者,行业包括软件和信息技术、电影和电视制作等等。达勒姆的三角研究园拥有250多家公司,包括财富100强跨国企业和创新型初创企业。与思科、杜邦、富达和IBM这样的公司比邻而居,我们有机会邀请当地名人发表演讲,在学生俱乐部和商业代表之间搭起沟通的桥梁,邀请近2,500名当地的富卡校友成为学生的导师。

文化

达勒姆是一个兼收并蓄的城市,坐拥众多历史文化景点、独特的购物体验、体育场馆、艺术节、音乐活动、教堂和风味绝佳的餐厅。从悠闲舒适的卡罗莱纳烧烤店到迷人的甜甜圈店,再到时髦的微型啤酒厂,达勒姆被Bon Appetit评为美国最美味的小镇。

交通

达勒姆-罗利国际机场距离达勒姆市区和校园只有20分钟的车程。离开校园几小时车程,你就可以抵达诸多景点,比如前往蓝岭山脉开展徒步和登山活动,到大西洋海岸享受海滩休闲和水上运动,或前往北卡罗来纳州Sandhills地区观赏高尔夫锦标赛。只要4小时车程即可抵达华盛顿。航空方面,一小时即可抵达纽约,也可直飞伦敦。

杜克大学富卡商学院的校园生活

在这座美丽校园的生活体验独一无二。学生、教授、职员及其家人共同构建了这座校园的多元文化。在这里,你会强烈地感受到互助友爱。从你踏入校园的第一步起,你就是“富卡团队”的一员。

杜克大学校园座落在静谧的杜克森林,这是一座天然的生态实验室,栖息着各种各样的动植物,而富卡商学院则位于杜克大学西校区的中心。

校园生活总是精彩纷呈——杜克大学拥有400个学生团体,还有管理学硕士生俱乐部。充满传奇色彩的卡梅隆室内篮球馆是杜克大学篮球粉丝们的圣地,步行仅需五分钟即可抵达。

你可以参观标志性的杜克教堂,欣赏美丽的哥特式建筑和彩色玻璃窗,或漫步莎拉杜克花园和5英里长的人行道。纳希尔艺术博物馆收藏了最好的当代艺术作品,尤其以非洲裔艺术家的作品为重点。在杜克狐猴中心,你可以参观世界上最大的濒危灵长类动物群落。

富卡商学院校园

昆山杜克大学管理学硕士项目在富卡校区上课。主楼占地490,500平方英尺,拥有美国最好的商科教育设施之一,配备了教室、虚拟教室、礼堂、小组讨论室和会议室。

福特图书馆为学习和团队会议提供了宁静、舒适的环境。图书馆的人性化设计,丰富的自然光,一系列舒适的座位,宽敞的展示空间,为每位来客提供舒适的体验。福克斯学生中心设有宽敞的活动区域、室外露台、更衣室(配有储物柜和淋浴)、学生交流中心、额外的办公空间、餐饮设施和学生休息室。福克斯中心是商学院的中心。在这里,你可以参加“Fuqua Friday”-每周五的全院社交活动,与同学、老师和校工一起参加美食聚会。

欲了解更多信息,请访问富卡商学院官网的“校园”页面

住在达勒姆

这里很适合安家。事实上,达勒姆地区被誉为最佳居住地之一,部分原因是生活成本较低。虽然杜克大学的研究生宿舍位置有限,但达勒姆地区提供各式住宿选择,因此富卡商学院的学生通常选择校外租房。在校园附近,许多学生公寓提供6个月租期的短租。

如果你在找房子方面需要帮助,可以咨询项目工作人员和校友,为你提供信息。你也可以在课程开始前和同学联系。找到好室友是找房子的第一步!