Living in Kunshan – Master of Management Studies | Duke Kunshan University

Living in Kunshan

The Yangtze River Delta Region is one of China’s most developed regions, and the city of Kunshan lies right in its heart. To its east, there’s Shanghai, a large international metropolis. To its west, there’s Suzhou, one of the country’s most renowned cultural and historic cities. This enviable location lets Kunshan provide its residents with geographic convenience, a well-developed infrastructure, and a unique living experience that combines culture and modernity. While studying here, you’ll experience firsthand how cities transform—Kunshan has grown from a small, ancient Chinese town to a manufacturing hub. And its growth hasn’t ended yet. Kunshan is ambitiously reemerging as a global high-tech center.

Kunshan occupies an area of 931 square kilometers (359 square miles), a quarter of which is covered by lakes and rivers. This superior combination of nature and urban living has made it home to a number of world famous Chinese water towns, such as Zhouzhuang. These water towns have drawn people from all over the world who have come to live and work in Kunshan.

Another advantage of Kunshan’s rapid social and economic development is that it’s spurred the growth of various recreational, dining, and lifestyle offerings. These benefit longtime residents and newcomers alike. Residents have equal access to the best urban infrastructure and amenities, including large shopping malls, state-of-the-art cultural and sports facilities, open cultural and nature parks, and public transportation.

Over the past decade, Kunshan’s rapid economic growth and its advanced level of development has landed it numerous awards:

  • Ranked # 1 on the governmental “Top 100 Best Developed County-level Economies in China” list since 2005
  • Ranked #1 on Forbes China’s list of Chinese Mainland’s Best County-level Cities since 2010
  • Winner of UN-Habitat Scroll of Honor Award in 2010

The Economy

With an average GDP per capita of 29,957 USD in 2015, Kunshan is considered the richest county-level city in China. Kunshan is home to more than 6,000 foreign-funded projects from 65 countries and regions around the world. After decades of development, a complete industrial chain has formed. It includes software, integrated circuitry, flat-panel displays, computer and network equipment, and communication technology. This sizable foreign capital inducement has drawn a large amount of immigrants, increasing the city’s regional demand for goods. In turn, this has been a driving force behind the local development of retail, food and beverage, and service industries.

Kunshan’s economic development is experiencing an upward trend in the value chain. In 2010, the Kunshan New and High-Tech Industrial Development Zone was promoted as a national high-tech zone. Since then, it has attracted an influx of high-tech enterprises and emerging industries, including digital equipment and biopharmaceutical industries, such as robot and siRNA manufacturing.

Kunshan is considered a successful model of China’s social and economic development, and for good reason. It provides you a glimpse into the vibrant changes that are happening right now in China.

The Culture

While Kunshan has experienced tremendous economic growth, city residents also enjoy and preserve its rich cultural and historical resources. Kunqu Opera, one of the oldest forms of Chinese opera, originated in Kunshan and is now listed by UNESCO as a Masterpiece of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity. Zhouzhuang, Jinxi, and Qiandeng, three of Kunshans ancient water towns, are among China’s nominations for inclusion in UNESCO’s World Heritage List.

Getting In and Out

Rapid advances in rail traffic has brought Kunshan’s people much closer to surrounding areas: the high-speed train reaches Shanghai and Suzhou within 20 minutes, and Shanghai's No.11 subway has already extended to Kunshan's Huaqiao area. Take a high-speed train, and you can get to Nanjing in 1.5 hours, or the capital city of Beijing in 5 hours.

The Duke Kunshan campus is about a 20-30 minute drive from the Kunshan South Railway Station, which is also accessible via many public buses and the free Duke Kunshan campus shuttle bus. In addition, the city's convenient bike rental system gives you quick and easy access to bicycles located throughout the city.

Kunshan is about a 2-hour drive away from Shanghai Pudong International Airport and a 1-hour drive away from Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport.

Campus Life at Duke Kunshan University

The Duke Kunshan University campus blends traditional Chinese elements with advanced educational technology in a spacious, modern setting. Extensive aquatic elements throughout the campus, including an aquatic quadrangle at the center of campus, symbolize the region's famous ancient water towns.

The campus has an academic center, a conference center, housing for students and faculty members, and an outdoor recreation space adjacent to the residence hall. There’s a variety of options available to you: on campus, you can go to the gym, a football pitch, or an outdoor basketball court; off campus at the Kunshan Sports Center, there’re recreational facilities for swimming, bowling, squash, badminton, tennis, and basketball. Scheduled shuttle transportation is offered for students to key travel hubs, as well as to local recreation, shopping, and support venues.

Multi-purpose meeting spaces and breakout rooms, study areas, and a dedicated library allow students to work individually or in groups. You’ll have full access to Duke University’s virtual resources through leading information technology. This same technology lets you connect with colleagues and classmates around the world. Bi-lingual (Chinese and English) professional staff members are available to assist students with personal and academic issues, and to enhance their abilities to learn.

Housing in Kunshan

While in Kunshan, MMS students will be housed in convenient on-campus suites. Each suite includes a shared living space, two bathrooms, and four bedrooms. Each MMS student will occupy a single room, which is equipped with a closet, mirror, study desk and chair, a bed and computer network connections. Two campus cafeterias and a café provide meals and drinks to campus residents and visitors. On-site laundry services are also available.

昆山的生活 – 管理学硕士 | 昆山杜克大学

昆山的生活

昆山市地处中国经济最发达区域之一的长江三角洲地区,东靠国际大都市上海,西傍历史文化名城苏州。昆山令人羡慕的位置为当地居民提供了便利的地理条件、完善的基础设施以及融合历史文化与现代的独特生活体验。在此学习期间,你可以亲身体验昆山是如何从古老的小镇变成为制造业中心。昆山的增长还远未结束。它正雄心勃勃地向全球高科技中心的目标发展。

昆山市总面积931平方公里,四分之一被湖泊与河流所覆盖。昆山拥有极其优越的自然生态环境和完善的城市生活空间,以及周庄等世界著名的中国水乡,吸引着来自全国以及世界各地的人们到昆山生活和工作。

快速的社会经济发展,也刺激了各种娱乐、餐饮和生活方式的提升,使长期居民和移居者受益匪浅。昆山居民享有着一流的城市基础设施,包括大型购物中心、先进的文化体育设施、开放的文化自然公园和公共交通。

十几年来,昆山经济飞速发展,屡获殊荣:

  • 2005年以来,连续荣登政府“中国县域经济100强”排行榜榜首。
  • 2010年以来,连续八年荣登《福布斯》杂志“中国大陆最佳县级城市”排行榜榜首。
  • 2010年荣获“联合国人居奖”。

经济

2015年昆山人均GDP为29,957美元,是中国最富有的县级市之一。昆山拥有来自世界65个国家和地区的6,000多个外商投资项目。经过几十年的发展,形成了完整的产业链,包括软件、集成电路、平板显示器、计算机和网络设备及通信技术。大量外资吸引了大量居民来此定居,推动了城市的商品需求,也推动了当地零售业、餐饮业和服务业的发展。

昆山的经济发展在价值链上呈现上升趋势。2010年,昆山高新技术产业开发区升为国家级高新区。从那以后,该区吸引了各大高科技企业和新兴产业入驻,包括数字设备和生物制药产业,如机器人和siRNA制造。

昆山被公认为中国社会经济发展的成功典范。这里是中国充满活力变化的一个缩影。

文化

随着经济的高速发展,昆山人民不仅为其丰富的文化资源感到骄傲,而且十分注重保护当地的历史文化。发源于昆山,有着“百戏之祖”美誉的昆曲,被联合国教科文组织列为“人类口述和非物质遗产代表作”。昆山的三大水乡古镇-周庄、锦溪和千灯也于近期荣获中国世界文化遗产提名,有望被纳入联合国认证的世界文化遗产。

交通

轨道交通的迅速发展更加拉近了昆山与周边地区的距离:乘坐高铁可在20分钟内到达上海与苏州;上海地铁11号线也已延伸至昆山花桥。乘坐高铁可以在1个半小时内到达南京,5小时内可到达首都北京。

昆山杜克大学距昆山南站约20-30分钟车程,还有许多公共巴士和免费的昆山杜克大学班车。此外,昆山还拥有便捷的共享单车体系,让你能够方便抵达城市各个区域。

昆山距上海浦东国际机场约2小时车程,距上海虹桥国际机场约1小时车程。

昆山杜克大学的校园生活

在宽敞的现代化环境中,昆山杜克大学将中国的传统元素与现代的教育技术合而为一。校园广泛运用了水乡元素,如校园中心的水塘,象征着昆山地区的古代水乡。

校园包括学术楼、会议中心、教师公寓、学生公寓以及毗邻的室外娱乐空间。你可以在校园的健身房、足球场或室外篮球场锻炼,也可以到附近的昆山体育中心的游泳馆、保龄球馆、壁球馆、羽毛球馆、网球场和篮球场放松娱乐。你还可乘坐班车前往昆山市区,享受当地的娱乐、购物和其他设施。

学生可在多用途会议空间、休息室、学习区域和专门的图书馆独自或以小组为单位进行学习。通过领先的信息技术,你可以便捷地访问杜克大学丰富的虚拟资源。信息技术也加强了你与全球同事和同学的联系。中英双语工作人员为你提供个人和学术上的支持,并助你提升学习能力。

住在昆山

在昆山期间,管理学硕士项目学生将被安排入住校园套房宿舍。每个套房均设有公共生活空间、两个浴室和四个卧室。学生一人一间卧室,卧室内配备衣柜、镜子、学习桌椅、床和电脑网络连接。校内餐饮设施包括两个食堂和一家咖啡馆。学校还提供校内洗衣服务。