More resources needed to study viruses with pandemic potential, says DKU expert | Duke Kunshan University

More resources needed to study viruses with pandemic potential, says DKU expert

Duke Kunshan University’s experts are closely monitoring the coronavirus outbreak. Here, Benjamin Anderson, an infectious disease epidemiologist and assistant professor of science and global heath, offers his analysis.

Putting the COVID-19 outbreak in context

“The World Health Organization (WHO) reports that in 2002-03 there were 8,098 probable cases of SARS-CoV (diagnostics were not available to confirm all cases), of which 774 died. The outbreak eventually subsided and no new naturally acquired cases have been identified since. From these numbers, we can calculate a mortality rate of 9.5 percent, but evidence shows the virus does not transmit human-to-human as efficiently as other known respiratory viruses. The most likely animal reservoir for SARS-CoV was identified to be civets, which prompted many countries to ban its importation.

“Fast-forward to 2012 and the first cases of MERS-CoV infection were identified. From 2012 until Jan. 15, 2020, the WHO reported 2,506 confirmed cases of MERS-CoV and 862 deaths. This corresponds to a death rate of 34 percent, but also with limited human-to-human transmission. Different from SARS-CoV, there has been sustained MERS-CoV infections since its discovery. This is likely due to human contact with dromedary camels, which were identified as a source of the virus.

“Comparing 2019-nCoV to these two similar events, we can see that while the overall death rate (currently 2.4 percent) may be lower, the transmissibility is much greater and the amount of total deaths have already surpassed that of both SARS-CoV and MERS-CoV. It is a serious situation. Initially, some have said that 2019-nCoV is not as severe because it has not caused as many total infections and deaths as influenza virus. This would be an inappropriate comparison given that 2019-nCoV is not circulating in the entire population like influenza is.”

Key lessons for COVID-19 and what needs to be done

“The most immediate lesson the scientific community can take from COVID-19 is that novel viruses that have potential to cross over from animals to human pose a major threat to global public health. There should be more resources allocated and efforts made to study the ecology of these viruses, particularly where humans and animals have contact.”

“More resources need to be allocated to studying viruses with pandemic potential in animals before they are able to transmit to people. We have a pretty good idea of what groups of viruses are of most concern and what environments we should focus on. New technologies, such as air sampling devices, give us the ability to monitor these environments non-invasively. Combined with advanced diagnostics, we can have a much better understanding of how these viruses emerge and what interventions would be most effective in reducing the risk of an outbreak. Additionally, biosecurity measures that protect people and communities from exposure to animal viruses should continue to be promoted where close contact might occur.”

“Global health systems are better equipped to cope with viral outbreaks like COVID-19 than 10 years ago primarily because of the emergence of H1N1 influenza pandemic in 2009. After that outbreak, the WHO adopted the Pandemic Influenza Preparedness (PIP) Framework with the goal ‘to improve and strengthen the sharing of influenza viruses with human pandemic potential, and to increase the access of developing countries to vaccines and other pandemic related supplies.’ Such infrastructure is important to implement a coordinated global response. The main focus has been on influenza viruses, as they have been viewed to pose the greatest risk. It seems such a framework should now be expanded to include other pathogens with pandemic potential and additional surveillance strategies considered to monitor for these pathogens in animals before they cross over to humans.”

Research focus

“My research group is focusing on high-risk environments where new viruses can be transmitted between animals and humans (i.e. zoonotic), settings where there is greater contact between animals and humans. This includes live animal markets, which have been implicated in the COVID-19 outbreak. We also focus on agricultural production sites using intensive farming practices. Poultry and swine farms are of particular interest given the regular circulation of influenza A viruses among these animals and that swine farms in Mexico were implicated as the origin of the 2009 H1N1 influenza A virus.”


Prof. Ben Anderson is available for comment. He will consider requests for interviews on camera, or by phone, Skype and email on topics including COVID-19, infection disease prevention and control; infectious disease transmission; and coronaviruses.

Media contact
Craig McIntosh
craig.mcintosh@dukekunshan.edu.cn

昆山杜克大学专家认为,新冠病毒肺炎疫情的爆发表明,需投入更多资源研究可能会大范围传播的病毒 | 昆山杜克大学

昆山杜克大学专家认为,新冠病毒肺炎疫情的爆发表明,需投入更多资源研究可能会大范围传播的病毒

昆山杜克大学的专家正在密切关注新冠病毒肺炎疫情的发展。近日,我校传染病流行病学家、科学与全球健康助理教授本杰明·安德森博士(Benjamin Anderson)对这场疫情进行了分析。

新冠病毒(2019-nCoV)的爆发背景

根据世界卫生组织(世卫组织)的报告,在2002-2003年期间,全球范围内共有8,098例确诊或疑似的SARS病例(无法通过临床诊断确认所有SARS-CoV病例),其中774例死亡。此后,SARS疫情最终平息,没有再发现新的自然感染病例。从这些数字中,我们可以计算出SARS病毒的死亡率在9.5%。证据表明SARS病毒的人际传播效率不如其他已知的呼吸道病毒。SARS病毒最有可能的动物宿主是果子狸,许多国家因此禁止果子狸的进口。

2012年报告了首例中东呼吸综合征冠状病毒(MERS-CoV)感染病例。从2012年到2020年1月15日,世卫组织报告了2,506例MERS冠状病毒确认感染病例,其中862例死亡。这相当于34%的死亡率,但人际传播有限。与SARS冠状病毒不同的是,自发现以来,一直不断有MERS冠状病毒感染病例出现。这可能是由于病人接触了单峰骆驼,单峰骆驼被认为是病毒的一个来源。

将新冠病毒肺炎与此前两个冠状病毒疫情进行比较,我们可以看到,虽然总死亡率(目前为2.4%)可能较低,但传播率要高得多,总死亡人数已经超过了非典肺炎和中东呼吸综合征。这个情况很严重。最初,有人认为新冠病毒没有流感病毒严重,因为没有像流感病毒那样造成那么多的感染和死亡。这种对比是不恰当的,因为新冠病毒没有像流感一样在整个人群中传播。

新冠病毒的主要教训以及需要采取的行动

科学界能从新冠病毒中得到的最直接的教训是,有可能从动物传染给人类的新型病毒对全球公共健康构成了重大威胁,应该投入更多的资源研究这些病毒的生态,特别需要关注人与动物有所接触的环境。

我们需要先行一步,分配更多的资源研究动物身上所携带的具有大规模人际传播潜力的病毒。我们现在比较清楚应该密切关注哪种病毒,以及应该关注哪些环境。借助于新技术,如空气取样设备,我们能够非侵入地监测这些环境。结合先进的诊断技术,我们可以更好地了解这些病毒如何出现,以及哪些干预措施最能有效降低疫情爆发的风险。此外,在可能发生密切接触的地方,应继续推广保护人群和社区免受动物病毒感染的生物安全措施。

经过2009年的H1N1流感大范围爆发的考验,全球卫生系统比10年前更有能力应对像新冠病毒这样的病毒大范围传播。H1N1流感疫情爆发后,世卫组织制定了《大流行性流感防范框架》(Pandemic Influenza Preparedness (PIP) Framework),旨在保护各国人民免受流感威胁。该战略的目标是 “改善和加强具有人类大流行潜力的流感病毒的信息共享,并增加发展中国家获得疫苗和其他大流行相关物资的机会。”这个基础设施对于协调全球应对疫情措施至关重要。目前的主要重心仍是流感病毒,因为流感病毒的风险性最大。但是现在看来,这个框架内容应该扩大范围,涵盖其他具有大流行潜力的病原体并制定额外的监测策略,以检测动物携带的病原体,警惕从动物传染给人类的疫情爆发。

研究重点

我的研究小组侧重研究新病毒可以在动物和人类之间传播的高风险环境(即人畜共患病),在这种环境中,动物和人类之间有更多的接触。此类高风险环境包括与新冠病毒爆发有关的活动物市场。我们还关注使用集约耕作方法的农业生产场所。鉴于甲型流感病毒在家禽和猪中的经常性传播,以及墨西哥的养猪场被认为是2009年甲型H1N1流感病毒爆发的源头,我们还尤其关注家禽饲养场和养猪场的情况。


媒体朋友可以通过摄像、电话、网络电话和电子邮件等方式采访本杰明·安德森博士,采访主题包括新冠病毒、传染病预防和控制、传染病传播以及冠状病毒等。

媒体联系人:
祁蕾
lei.qi@dukekunshan.edu.cn