Xin Li Appointed Director of Institute of Applied Physical Science & Engineering and Data Science Research Center at Duke Kunshan

Xin Li, professor of electrical and computer engineering at Duke University and Duke Kunshan University, has been appointed as the director of the new Institute of Applied Physical Science and Engineering (iAPSE) and the Data Science Research Center (DSRC) at Duke Kunshan University.

“Dr. Li is an internationally renowned scientist in electrical engineering and data analytics, and has extensive experience in research and advanced manufacturing,” said Denis Simon, executive vice chancellor of Duke Kunshan. “We expect that iAPSE and DSRC, along with other collaborators at Duke and Duke Kunshan, to initiate, drive and lead the ‘Eastern Silicon Valley’ with high-tech industry in Kunshan and the world at large.” 

Under Dr. Li’s leadership, iAPSE will aim to develop education programs and research centers in applied sciences and engineering to enable interdisciplinary collaboration, global leadership and knowledge in service to society. As one of these research centers under iAPSE, DSRC’s mission is to impact broad communities of science, engineering, medicine, policy and business by inventing transformative algorithms, tools and methodologies for data analytics.

Dr. Li is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), which recognizes outstanding and unusual professional achievements of IEEE members. Less than 0.1 percent of voting members are selected annually for this member grade elevation.

Dr. Li’s inventions are making critical contributions in many interdisciplinary areas related to health informatics and smart community and affecting people’s everyday lives. Most recently, for example, Dr. Li’s interests lie in applying big data analysis in language environment for early childhood education, intelligent building information system, and self-driving vehicles, etc. The long-term objective of his research is to enhance our life quality, including comfort, reliability and safety, by adopting artificial intelligence into our daily life.

 “I am extremely proud to accept this position at Duke Kunshan, as I see enormous opportunities to nurture high-end talent, develop innovative technologies, and facilitate industrial transformation in China today”, said Dr. Li.

In his research career, Dr. Li has invented numerous novel algorithms, tools and methodologies for data analytics, and they have been adopted and commercialized to produce products that have wide impacts on everyone on this planet, including smart phone, search engine, self-driving vehicle and virtual reality devices.

In 2005, he co-founded Xigmix Inc. to commercialize his Ph.D. research, and served as the Chief Technical Officer until the company was acquired by Extreme DA in 2007. In 2011, Extreme DA was further acquired by Synopsis (Nasdaq: SNPS). From 2009 to 2012, he was the Assistant Director for FCRP Focus Research Center for Circuit & System Solutions (C2S2), a national consortium of 13 research universities (CMU, MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, UIUC, UMich, Columbia, UCLA, among others) chartered by the U.S. semiconductor industry and U.S. Department of Defense to work on next-generation integrated circuit design challenges. From 2014 to 2015, he was the Assistant Director for the Center for Silicon System Implementation (CSSI), a CMU research center with 20 faculty members working on integrated circuits and systems. He is now on the Board of Directors for R&D Smart Devices (Hong Kong), X&L Holding (Hong Kong) and IVO Technology (Jiangsu, China). His entrepreneurship has successfully transformed fundamental technologies to commercial products that benefit a large population across the world. In addition, by training the undergraduate and graduate students at Duke Kunshan University with scientific knowledge, engineering skills and entrepreneur experience, Dr. Li will help to create a new generation of global technical leaders for today’s dynamically involving environment.  

Academically, a large body of his research focuses on data analytics for integrated circuit and semiconductor manufacturing where he led a number of impactful projects to model, analyze and optimize manufacturing variabilities. His work has been highly recognized by the community with six Best Paper Awards, including two IEEE Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Awards in 2013 and 2016 respectively, and has been extensively covered by the media.

Dr. Li joined Duke Kunshan University and the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Duke University in January 2017. Besides his research responsibilities at Duke Kunshan, he also develops education programs in applied sciences and engineering for graduate and undergraduate students. In his capacity at Duke, he looks to forge collaborations through Duke’s many strengths in areas such as microchip architecture and testing, brain-machine interfaces, and self-driving cars.

Dr. Li received the Ph.D. degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA in 2005, and the M.S. and B.S. degrees in Electronics Engineering from Fudan University, Shanghai, China in 2001 and 1998, respectively.

李昕教授被任命为昆山杜克大学应用自然科学与工程研究院以及数据科学研究中心主任

李昕博士

昆山杜克大学和美国杜克大学电子与计算机工程学教授李昕博士新近被任命为昆山杜克大学应用自然科学与工程研究院(iAPSE)以及数据科学研究中心(DSRC)主任。

昆山杜克大学常务副校长丹尼斯·西蒙博士表示,“李昕博士是电子工程和数据分析领域的国际知名科学家,在研究和先进制造方面拥有丰富的经验。我们期待,我校应用自然科学与工程研究院和数据科学研究中心,以及美国杜克大学和昆山杜克大学的其他科研合作项目能够在昆山乃至全球范围内发起、推进并领导高科技产业的发展,推动‘东方硅谷’的建设。”

在李昕博士的领导下,昆山杜克大学应用自然科学与工程研究院将致力于推进应用科学和工程领域的教育项目和研究中心的建立,以实现跨学科合作、打造全球领导力并最终将知识用于服务社会。作为应用自然科学与工程研究院下属的研究中心之一,数据科学研究中心的使命是,通过发明数据分析的变革算法、工具和方法论,在科学、工程、医学、政策和商业等领域产生广泛的影响。

李昕博士是国际电气与电子工程师协会(IEEE)会士。IEEE会士荣誉旨在表彰在电气与电子工程领域做出了突出贡献的成员。在每年的评选中,仅有不到0.1%的IEEE投票成员能够获得此项殊荣。

在与健康信息学和智慧社区相关的多个跨学科领域,李昕博士的发明做出了重要贡献,影响人们的日常生活。例如,李昕博士最近的研究兴趣聚焦于将大数据分析应用到儿童早期教育语言环境、智能建筑信息系统以及自动驾驶中。李昕博士的长期研究目标是,通过人工智能在日常生活中的应用,提升人们的生活质量,包括舒适性、可靠性和安全性。

李昕博士表示,“我非常自豪能在昆山杜克大学担任这个职位。我觉得在这里有很多的机会可以培养高端人才、开发创新技术以及促进当下的中国产业转型。”

在研究生涯中,李昕博士发明了许多新颖的数据分析算法、工具和方法论,并且已被商业化生产为与全球每个人都息息相关的产品,包括智能手机、搜索引擎、自动驾驶车辆和虚拟现实设备等。

2005年,李昕博士联合创立了Xigmix公司,将他的博士研究成果产业化,并担任首席技术官,直到公司在2007年被Extreme DA收购。2011年,Extreme DA被新思科技 (Synopsys) (Nasdaq: SNPS)收购。从2009年到2012年间,李昕博士担任了电路和系统解决方案(C2S2)重点研究中心的助理总监,该研究中心是美国13所研究型大学(包括卡耐基梅隆大学、麻省理工学院、斯坦福大学、加州大学伯克利分校、伊利诺伊大学厄巴纳-香槟分校、密歇根大学、哥伦比亚大学、加州大学洛杉矶分校等)联合组成的全国性研究机构,由美国半导体行业和美国国防部牵头,负责研发下一代集成电路设计。

从2014年到2015年,李昕博士是卡耐基梅隆大学下属硅系统实施中心(CSSI)的助理总监,这个研究中心有20位教师,开展集成电路和系统的研发工作。李昕博士现任几家技术公司的董事会成员,包括R&D Smart Devices(香港),X&L Holding(香港)以及昆山龙腾光电有限公司(中国江苏)。

李昕博士的创业精神成功地将基础技术转化为能够让全球大多数人因之受益的商业产品。此外,通过对昆山杜克大学的本科生和研究生传授科学知识、工程技能和企业家经验,李昕博士将帮助培养新一代全球技术领导者,在今天这个快速变化的环境中脱颖而出。

在学术上,李昕教授的大量研究聚焦于集成电路和半导体制造的数据分析,他领导了多个有影响力的项目来建模、分析和优化制造变异性。李昕博士的研究工作得到了学术界的高度评价,曾6次荣获最佳论文奖,其中包括2013年和2016年的IEEE 唐纳德O.佩德森最佳论文奖,得到媒体的广泛报道。

2017年1月,李昕博士作为电子与计算机工程学教授正式加入昆山杜克大学和美国杜克大学。在昆山杜克大学,除了研究工作之外,李昕博士将为本科生和研究生开发应用科学和工程专业的教育项目。在杜克大学,李昕博士将尝试在学校的强势领域建立研究合作,把微芯片架构和测试、脑机接口和自动驾驶汽车等领域的研究推向更高的台阶。

李昕博士于2005年在美国卡内基梅隆大学(位于宾夕法尼亚州匹兹堡市)获得电子与计算机工程博士学位。他于1998年和2001年获得复旦大学电子工程系学士及硕士学位。