GHRC - RESEARCH FOCUS AREAS

Health Policy and Systems

The Chinese government has enacted health system reform in recent years to improve access to health care and meet the basic needs of over a billion people spread over a vast and diverse landscape.  As the country transitions to a market economy, the government of China aims to establish a health care system that serves all Chinese citizens and ensures their access to public health services and medical care through either social health insurance or government-supported health insurance schemes. This overhaul also includes improvement of health facilities, training of health personnel, and distribution of resources more equitably. Accurate collection and analysis of data will be crucial to the monitoring, evaluation and continual improvement of these reforms. The Global Health Research Center conducts research that monitors and evaluates the progress of the health reforms being enacted, with the goal of informing subsequent policy decisions.

Program Highlight

Improving access to and rational use of medicines in urban China

The goal of the proposed research is to improve equity in access to, and financing of, medicines by implementing effective and sustainable health insurance schemes in urban China. The research will describe and understand policies and regulations on access to medicines developed and implemented by urban health insurance schemes. We will provide policy recommendations on improving equitable access to and rational use of medicines through better design and implementation of health insurance schemes, taking into account national and local policies and regulations in urban areas with health insurance coverage.

Tuberculosis (TB) prevention and control project: Developing and evaluating finance approaches for TB and Multi-Drug Resistant TB treatment

This project aims to improve equity in access to and financing of tuberculosis and multi-drug resistant TB care, and to increase economic efficiency through optimizing health insurance policies, provision of subsidies for the patients, and reforming provider payment methods. The project has been implemented in three prefectures in eastern, central and western regions of China over a three-year period (2013-2015).

卫生政策与体系 | 昆山杜克大学

卫生政策与体系

近年来,中国政府为改善卫生服务可及性并满足广大人民群众的基本卫生服务需求,开展并不断深化医药卫生体制改革。伴随着中国向市场经济的转型,中国政府正在致力于建立服务全民的卫生体系,通过社会医疗保险或者政府支持的医疗保险方案确保公共卫生和医疗服务惠及大众。改革内容还包括改善卫生设施、培训卫生服务人员、提升卫生资源分配的公平性等方面。改革措施的监测、评估和持续生效有赖于对相关数据与资料的准确收集与分析,全球健康研究中心开展监测和评价医疗改革进展方面的研究,将为后续政策制定提供实证依据。

重点项目

促进中国城镇地区药品获得与合理使用

该研究旨在通过于中国城镇地区建立有效和可持续的医疗保险方案,提高药物获得和融资等方面的公平性。该研究将描述和分析城镇居民医疗保险方案所建立的药品获得政策与法规,并将结合医疗保险覆盖地区的国家和地方政策法规,改善医疗保险方案的设计与执行效果,进而为促进药品获得与合理使用提供政策建议。

肺结核预防和控制项目:发展和评估肺结核和抗多药性肺结核治疗的融资方法

该项目旨在提高肺结核和抗多药性肺结核医疗服务的获得和融资方面的公平性,并通过优化医疗保险政策、提供就医补贴、改革支付方法等措施提高经济效益。该项目目前已于2013-2015年间在中国东、中、西部的三个县开展研究。